The Golden State Teacher Grant Program (GSTG) awards up to $20,000 for students who are currently enrolled in an approved teacher preparation program. Students commit to teach in a “high-need” field at a “priority school” in California for four years and have five years, upon completion of the recipient’s preparation program, to meet that obligation.
To be eligible for the Golden State Teacher Grant, a student must meet the following eligibility criteria:
Be currently enrolled in a teacher preparation program (including internship and teacher residency programs) approved by the Commission on Teacher Credentialing (CTC). For a list of eligible schools please visit the CTC website.
- Must maintain good academic standing.
Commit to teach in California for
four years, within five years after completing a teacher
- Must teach in a high-need field.
- Must teach at a priority school.
- Submit a Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) or CA Dream Act Application (CADAA).
Students commit to teach in a “high-need” field:
- Bilingual Education
- Career Technical Education in STEM areas
- Special Education
- Multiple Subject Instruction
- Transitional Kindergarten
A “priority school” is a school with more than 55 percent of pupils who are classified as an English Learner, eligible for a free or reduced-price meal, or current foster youth. The current list of priority schools is available on the California Commission on Teacher Credentialing (CTC) website.
How To Apply
STEP 1: Submit a Golden State Teacher Grant Application
The 2022-23 Golden State Teacher Grant application is now open.
Frequently Asked Questions
Once a student has completed their application, they will receive a confirmation email that their application has been submitted. It will be up to their institution to verify final eligibility and determine an award amount.
Once the institution has verified eligibility, the student will receive another email to sign their Teaching Agreement (TA). The TA explains the student’s obligations under the provisions of the grant. Non-compliance with the TA will result in repayment at 25 percent per year of non-compliance. Participants must:
- Maintain good academic standing while enrolled in the CTC approved teacher preparation program.
- Commit to teach in a high-need field at a “priority school” for four (4) years, within five (5) years after graduation from the teacher preparation program.
After the TA has been signed, the student’s payment will be processed by the California Student Aid Commission and sent to their institution.
For more information contact the
Golden State Teacher Grant Program at: