Middle Class Scholarship
For Undergraduates and Students Pursuing a Teaching Credential
The Middle Class Scholarship is for undergraduates and students pursuing a teaching credential with family assets up to $184,000 and income up to $184,000.
Ten things you need to know
1. The Middle Class Scholarship (MCS) provides undergraduate students, including students pursuing a teaching credential, with family income up to $184,000 and assets up to $184,000 a scholarship to attend University of California (UC) or California State University (CSU) campuses.
2. Students must meet the following requirements: be a California resident attending a UC or CSU; be a U.S. citizen, permanent resident or have AB 540* student status; meet certain income/asset and other financial aid standards; maintain satisfactory academic progress; not be in default on a student loan; and, must not be incarcerated.
3. You may receive the MCS award for up to 4 years depending on education level when awarded.
4. Beginning on October 1st through the March 2nd deadline, students may complete a Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) or the California Dream Act Application (CADAA). Use the California Dream Act Application if you do not have a Social Security number (SSN) or if you have a Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) number. Make sure your email address is listed on your FAFSA or CADAA. Once you are accepted to a UC or CSU, you will automatically be considered for the MCS scholarship.
5. After you have submitted your FAFSA or CADAA, establish a WebGrants 4 Students account to monitor your state financial aid. We have updated our WebGrants 4 Students website which now offers enhanced security features and easier navigation.
6. Students whose families have income up to $184,000 and assets up to $184,000 per year may be eligible for a scholarship amount between 10% and 40% of the mandatory system-wide tuition and fees at a University of California or California State University campuses.
7. MCS scholarships are not set amounts and may vary by student and institution. The award amount is determined after you are awarded any federal, state, and institutional need-based grants for which you are eligible. The final award amount will be based on the number of students eligible for the MCS statewide and the funding allocated by the State Budget. Pursuant to Education Code section 70023, MCS award amounts may be reduced at any time during the academic year if is determined that the funds appropriated are insufficient to cover the cost of the projected MCS awards.
8. To get assistance completing the FAFSA or CADAA, you can attend a Cash for College workshop in your community beginning on October 1st, but before the March 2nd application deadline. Students must reapply each year. For workshop locations and more information on Cash for College, please visit cash4college.csac.ca.gov.
9. If you are selected to receive an MCS award, you will be notified by the California Student Aid Commission in August.
10. If you need more information about this scholarship, contact your UC or CSU campus Financial Aid Office or check your mygrantinfo.csac.ca.gov account.
*AB 540 students are subject to the following qualifications:
- Attend a California high school for a minimum of 3 years or attain credits equivalent to 3 or more years of high school coursework and have a combination of 3 or more years at a California elementary or secondary school as set forth in AB 2000.
- Graduate from a California high school or pass the California High School Proficiency Exam (CHSPE) or get a General Equivalency Diploma (GED);
- Enroll in an accredited and qualified California college or university; and,
- If applicable, fill out an affidavit stating your intent to legalize your immigration status as soon as possible.