Statewide 2018-19 Race to Submit Winners Announced
California Student Aid Commission recognizes schools with highest rate of student financial aid submissions


Sacramento, CA (2018) – Winners of a statewide campaign aimed at increasing the number of high school seniors who complete the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) and California Dream Act Application (CADAA) were announced for the 2018 Race to Submit campaign by the California Student Aid Commission (Commission).

The Race to Submit campaign took place from October 1, 2017 to March 2, 2018, which is the deadline to apply for the Cal Grant program, fostering a friendly competition among California public high schools. The FAFSA and CADAA are student financial aid forms that provide access to grants, work-study, and scholarships for higher education.

California high schools with the highest FAFSA/CADAA completion rates based on seven categories of student population were announced:

    LEVEL 1 – Student enrollment count less than or equal to 50
1. Creekside High, Sonoma
2. Ambassador Phillip V. Sanchez Public Charter, Fresno
3. Crescent View South Charter, Fresno
4. Diego Hills Charter, San Diego
5. Calaveras River Academy, San Andreas

    LEVEL 2 – Student enrollment count greater than or equal to 51 and less than  or equal to 100
1. Oakland Charter High, Oakland
2. Contreras Learning Center-Academic Leadership Community, Los Angeles
3. Preuss School UCSD, San Diego
4. UCLA Community K-12, Los Angeles
5. Health Careers Academy, Stockton

    LEVEL 3 – Student enrollment count greater than or equal to 101 and less than or equal to 200
1. California Academy of Mathematics and Science, Carson
2. Alliance Dr. Olga Mohan High, Los Angeles
3. Ednovate – USC Hybrid High, Los Angeles
4. Alliance Margaret M. Bloomfield Technology Academy High, Huntington Park
5. Alliance Susan and Eric Smidt Technology High, Los Angeles

    LEVEL 4 – Student enrollment count greater than or equal to 201 and less than or equal to 325
1. Downtown Business High, Los Angeles
2. Benjamin Franklin Senior High, Los Angeles
3. San Diego International Studies, San Diego
4. Edward R. Roybal Learning Center, Los Angeles
5. Northridge Academy High, Northridge

    LEVEL 5 – Student enrollment count greater than or equal to 326 and less than or equal to 500
1. Santa Clara High, Santa Clara
2. Ramon C. Cortines School of Visual and Performing Arts, Los Angeles
3. Jurupa Valley High, Mira Loma
4. Fresno High, Fresno
5. Santa Paula High, Santa Paula

    LEVEL 6 – Student enrollment count greater than or equal to 501 and less than or equal to 700
1. Citrus Hill High, Perris
2. Hector G. Godinez, Santa Ana
3. Sunnyside High, Fresno
4. La Quinta High, Westminster
5. Edison High, Fresno

    LEVEL 7 – Student enrollment count greater than or equal to 701
1. Rancho Verde High, Moreno Valley
2. San Marcos High, San Marcos
3. Granada Hills Charter High, Granada Hills
4. Santiago High, Corona
5. Downey High, Downey

The winners will be honored at the Race to Submit award ceremony to be held in October as the 2019-20 campaign for Race to Submit kicks off.

The Commission wishes to thank all the schools that participated in this year’s Race to Submit and honors all faculty and staff for positively impacting the lives of California students.