Arthur S. Marmaduke High School Counselor Award
Recognizing and honoring excellence in a California High School Counselor


The nomination period for the 2024 period is NOW CLOSED.

The Arthur S. Marmaduke Award is an annual award recognizing an outstanding California high school counselor who demonstrates exemplary skills in helping students fulfill their dreams of going to college. Each year, the California Student Aid Commission solicits nominations recommending a California high school counselor who demonstrates effectiveness for serving students in preparing for and pursuing their higher education. The candidate may be nominated by their District and County leadership, fellow school counselor/teacher, school principal, or another site administrator.

Arthur S. Marmaduke was the Executive Director of the California Student Aid Commission for 25 years from 1960 to 1985. The award was established in 1985 in his honor as the longest-serving executive director in the history of the Commission, which was founded in 1955. Mr. Marmaduke also served as the first President of the National Association of State Grant and Aid Programs.

The annual winner is chosen by the California Student Aid Commission and announced in the spring time. The award, which includes a plaque and $1,500 check is presented at the awardee’s high school or virtually via Zoom.

Arthur S. Marmaduke High School Counselor Award

The California Student Aid Commission will announce the winner in Spring 2024.

Marmaduke Award nominations are solicited annually by the California Student Aid Commission and is named after one of the longest running executive directors of the Commission, Arthur S. Marmaduke. Mr. Marmaduke served the Commission for 25 years from 1960 to 1985 and the award was established in 1985 to carry on his legacy of making education beyond high school financially accessible to all Californians.

Past Recipients of the Arthur S. Marmaduke High School Counselor Award

Year Name School County
2022-2023 Paula Riesenbeck Chaparral High School Riverside
2021-2022 Norma Murillo Orange Cove High School Fresno
2020-2021 Yia Le McLane High School Fresno
2019-2020 Jorge Montijo Panorama High School Los Angeles
2018-2019 Meagan Holmes West High School Kern
2017-2018 Beau Menchaca Century High School Santa Ana
2016-2017 Lynda McGee Downtown Magnets High School Los Angeles
2015-2016 Jesse Barajas, Jr. Gridley High School Butte
2013-2014 Andrea Goodwin Los Angeles High School for the Arts Los Angeles
2012-2013 Warren Popp Keema High School Sacramento
2011-2012 Dr. Dario Villa Montgomery High School San Diego
2010-2011 Lisa R. Golden King Drew Magnet High School of Medicine and Science Los Angeles
2009-2010 Michael Badouin Chino Hills High School San Bernardino
2008-2009 Twila Rutherford Fort Bragg High School Rancho Cordova
2007-2008 Rebecca Jauregui Lodi High School Lodi
2006-2007 Robin Sroka Woodrow Wilson Classical High School Long Beach
2005-2006 Sally Pace Woodlake High School Woodlake
2004-2005 Michelle Khayat Valley High School  Sacramento
2003-2004 Sue Ann Joy San Rafael High School San Rafael
2002-2003 Henry Bailey    
2001-2002 Barry T. Baker    
2000-2001 Barbara McCune    
1999-2000 Hector Armas    
1998-1999 Linden Beckford    
1997-1998 Charlotte Downing    
1996-1997 Douglas R. Mercer    
1995-1996 Carmen Starr    
1994-1995 Jean Flores    
1993-1994 John Mandell    
1992-1993 Janice Reinstein    
1991-1992 Raymon W. Kirk    
1990-1991 Jack Wright    
1989-1990 Eleanor Richards    
1988-1989 Enriqueta V. Chavez    
1987-1988 Tony Gelfuso    
1986-1987 Michael Sullivan    
1985-1986 Marcine Landon    

Eligibility Criteria

The nominee must:

  • Hold a Pupil Personnel Services Credential and work with high school students.
  • Have worked as a school counselor, and/or district administrator of school counseling programs for at least three years. 
  • Have worked as a high school counselor for at least one year at their current high school. 
  • Maintain high moral standards in their personal and professional conduct.
  • Work at a single school site. High school counselors who serve multiple
  • school sites cannot be accepted due to the school-specific questions on the nomination form and scoring criteria.

Criteria for recognition:

  • Service as model citizens of their community, the school counseling community, and their broader professional community. They maintain high moral standards in their personal and professional conduct.
  • Responsibility for high school counseling innovations or further development of programs to support all students’ career, personal/social, and academic development. 
  • Demonstration of leadership, advocacy, and collaboration in their work and promote equity and access to opportunities and rigorous educational experiences for all students to maximize student achievement.
  • Superior skills and dedication to promoting the importance of financial aid to students, families, and the community.

Nomination Form and Guide

The nomination period for the 2024 period is NOW CLOSED

  • Google Chrome is not compatible.
  • Complete the Nomination Form by November 17, 2023.
  • The California Student Aid Commission will announce the winner in Spring 2024.

Arthur S. Marmaduke H.S. Counselor Nomination Sample Form

Scoring & Selection Process

Candidates will be scored based on the following criteria:

  • Involvement in financial aid and college events/activities
  • Impact on FAFSA/CA Dream Act Application (CADAA) completion rates (rates over the past 3 years will be considered)
  • What they do to help students maintain eligibility and prepare for college
  • What they do to support and interact with underrepresented and 1st generation families
  • The personal comments from the nominator and the student testimonies

*Bonus Points are possible for those nominees who coordinate/promote Cash for College events*

To evaluate all the nominations, the California Student Aid Commission (Commission) convenes a selection committee consisting of Commission members, a member of the California Department of Education, a high school counselor, and Commission Staff. Using scoring guidelines aligned with the nomination questions, along with consideration for FAFSA/CADAA completion rates, committee members identify the nominations that best address the prompts and distinguish themselves as exemplary.

Once a winner is selected, the Commission will contact both the nominee and the nominator to coordinate a date and location for the award ceremony.

Arthur S. Marmaduke Award Videos – Prior Years

Paula Riesenbeck 2022-23