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Eligibility 

If I received a GSTG award before and did not receive the full $20,000, can 
I apply again? 

No, you may only apply for the GSTG once, for the initial year you’d like to 
receive the grant. Commencing with the 2022-23 academic year, the GSTG 
can be paid out over multiple academic years if you continue to meet 
eligibility. The total amount of your GSTG payments cannot exceed $20,000 
for California-based, Commission on Teaching Credentialling (CTC)-approved 
programs or $10,000 for California residents enrolled in CTC-approved online 
programs that meet the criteria established in California Education Code 
Section 69617.5 (Western Governors University only). 

If you receive a GSTG award for less than the maximum available to you, your 
application will be automatically renewed the next academic year for review 
by your institution, who will determine if you continue to meet program 
eligibility requirements to receive up to the remaining funds. Do not submit 
an additional application. 

Is my institution/program eligible? 

All students applying for the GSTG Program must be currently enrolled in, or 
have applied for enrollment in, a professional preparation program approved 
by the Commission on Teaching Credentialling (CTC) that either: 

• Has a main campus location or administrative entity in California, 
including programs operated by California Local Education Agencies.  

o Visit https://www.ctc.ca.gov/commission/reports/data/approved-
institutions-and-programs for a current list of programs meeting 
this criteria. Remember, only those located on the map in CA 
may be eligible. 

o These students are eligible for up to $20,000 total. 
• Is a private postsecondary institution offering the program to CA 

residents exclusively online (among other criteria established in 
California Education Code §69617.5). 

o At this time, Western Governors University is the only 
institution that the CTC has determined meets this criteria. 

o These students are eligible for up to $10,000 total. 

Are teacher induction programs eligible? 

No, students enrolled in induction programs are not eligible for the GSTG.  

Are Designated Subjects Career Technical Education (DS CTE) programs 
eligible? 

No, DS CTE programs are not eligible for the GSTG. DS CTE programs are not 
considered “professional preparation programs.”  

https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=69617.5.&lawCode=EDC
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=69617.5.&lawCode=EDC
https://www.ctc.ca.gov/commission/reports/data/approved-institutions-and-programs
https://www.ctc.ca.gov/commission/reports/data/approved-institutions-and-programs
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=202320240SB114
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Are integrated/blended programs eligible? 

Yes, integrated programs (BA, MA, and Education Specialist) meet the CTC-
approved criteria for a professional preparation program. If you are enrolled in 
the integrated program and working towards your degree and preliminary 
teaching credential or pupil personnel services credential, you are eligible to 
apply and receive funds at any time you are enrolled in the program (i.e., the 
credential portion and/or the degree portion). 

Note: Time spent working prior to completing your program and obtaining 
your credential does not count towards your 4-year service obligation. 
Usually, your 8-year timeframe to complete the 4-years of service at an 
eligible priority school or California preschool program site will begin once 
you complete both the credential and degree portions of your program. 

If I already hold a credential, but am returning to school to earn a second 
credential, am I eligible? 

There are two levels of teaching credentials issued by CTC – “preliminary” and 
“clear,” while pupil personnel services (PPS) credentials are only issued as 
clear. As required by statute, GSTG recipients may only be awarded for one 
credential program and must be enrolled in a professional preparation 
program that leads to earning their preliminary teaching credential or PPS 
credential. 

If you have not been previously awarded a GSTG, refer to the below table for 
additional guidance to see if you may be eligible. 

Current 
Credential 

Credential 
Pursuing 

GSTG 
Eligibility Reason 

None Teaching Eligible Your initial teaching credential will 
be issued as preliminary. 

None PPS Eligible You will be issued a PPS credential. 
Preliminary 
Teaching 

Additional 
Teaching 

Eligible Your additional teaching credential 
will be issued as preliminary. 

PPS  Additional 
PPS 

Eligible You will be issued an additional PPS 
credential. 

Clear 
Teaching 

Additional 
Teaching 

Ineligible Your additional teaching credential 
will be issued as clear.  

Clear/ 
Preliminary 
Teaching 

PPS Eligible You will be issued a PPS credential. 

PPS Teaching Eligible You will be issued a preliminary 
teaching credential. 
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Are undocumented and DACA students eligible? 

Yes, both undocumented and Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) 
students are all eligible for the GSTG Program. However, you must also be 
AB540 eligible to receive state aid, obtain an ITIN to receive your credential 
from CTC, and have valid work authorization to complete your service 
requirement. Not receiving your credential and/or not completing your 
service requirement will result in failure to meet program terms and require 
the repayment of any GSTG funds disbursed to you. 

Are AB540 students eligible? 

Yes, AB540 status students are eligible for the GSTG Program. However, you 
must obtain an ITIN to receive your credential from CTC and have valid work 
authorization to complete your service requirement. Not receiving your 
credential and/or not completing your service requirement will result in 
failure to meet program terms and require the repayment of any GSTG funds 
disbursed to you. 

Are international students eligible? 

No, international students do not qualify for federal or state financial aid, 
including the GSTG. 

Non-immigrants granted one of the following visas do not qualify for AB 540 
status, unless they hold a TPS or U Visa, to be granted a California nonresident 
exemption and receive state aid: A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I, J, K, L, M, N, O, P, Q, R, S, 
TN, TD, V, TROV, and NATO. 

Do students enrolled in pupil personnel services (PPS) preparation 
programs have to earn their credential? 

Yes, all GSTG recipients must complete their professional preparation 
program and obtain their credential within 6 years of the date we mail their 
initial GSTG payment to their institution. 
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Application 

Is the FAFSA/CADAA required? 

Yes, the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) or California Dream 
Act Application (CADAA) (if applicable) is required for all GSTG applicants, 
including those attending Local Education Agencies (LEAs) and Cal Grant 
ineligible schools. 

What do I do if my institution is not listed on the FAFSA/CADAA? 

Please reach out to your institution’s GSTG Coordinator for school selection. 
Once complete, download your Student Aid Report (SAR) (FAFSA) or 
California Student Aid Report (Cal SAR) (CADAA) and provide it to your 
institution so that the necessary information can be obtained and your GSTG 
application can be processed. 

For a list of GSTG Coordinators by institution, please visit the GSTG Program 
website. 

I am trying to register, but I am receiving an error saying my 
SSN/birthdate don’t match the information in the system. What do I do? 

This error message means the system recognizes that you have created a 
WebGrants account before. This was likely back in high school when you 
initially applied for financial aid for college. You need to retrieve and use your 
original account information as the system does not allow you to register a 
second time. Select “returning user” and log in. 

Please note, you are a returning user if you have done any of the following: 
• Previously created a WebGrants account 
• Registered for other financial aid with California Student Aid 

Commission (CSAC) 
• Have a CSAC ID or California Dream Act (CADA) ID 
• Previously registered for a Golden State Teacher Grant (GSTG) award 

You can also check out this video for a helpful tutorial on how to access your 
account and recover your login details: 
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=38HxIaP5X68. Please allow up to 24 hours 
to receive the recovery email and check your junk/spam folders often. 

If you have waited the 24 hours and still have not received a recovery email, 
please contact Student Support at 1-888-224-7268 Monday through Thursday 
from 8:30 am to 4:00 pm or Friday from 8:30 am to 3:00 pm, or e-mail 
studentsupport@csac.ca.gov to request assistance with recovering your 
WebGrants log in information. 

 

https://studentaid.gov/h/apply-for-aid/fafsa
https://dream.csac.ca.gov/landing
https://dream.csac.ca.gov/landing
http://www.csac.ca.gov/gstg
http://www.csac.ca.gov/gstg
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=38HxIaP5X68
mailto:studentsupport@csac.ca.gov
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How can I check my application status? 

You can check your application status at any time through your GSTG 
student portal. Select “View Application Status” under the “Student” menu. 

Can I make changes to my application? 

Yes, you can update most information on your GSTG application on your own. 
To make changes, log into your GSTG student portal. Once logged in, select 
“New/Update Application” located under the “Student” menu. 

If you need to make changes to your social security number, date of birth, 
and/or email address, please contact us at goldenstateteachers@csac.ca.gov. 

If you need to change your name, provide two copies of identification and 
email them encrypted to goldenstateteachers@csac.ca.gov. 

What does it mean if my application status is “Pending Review?” 

“Pending Review” status means your application is waiting to be reviewed by 
your institution. Your institution will verify your eligibility for the GSTG 
Program and determine your award amount. 

Contact your institution’s GSTG Coordinator for a status on their end. For a list 
of GSTG Coordinators by institution, please visit the GSTG Program website. 

What does it mean if my application status is “Waiting SA?” 

“Waiting SA” status means we are waiting for you to accept your Service 
Agreement (SA). To accept your SA, log into your GSTG student portal. Once 
logged in, select the “Service Agreement” link located under the Student 
menu and then the appropriate academic year from the drop-down menu. 

What does it mean if my application status is “Signed SA?” 

“Signed SA” status means we received your accepted Service Agreement (SA). 
At this stage, there is nothing additional required from you. Your application 
status will remain as “Signed SA” until payments processed are equal to your 
award amount. 

Unless otherwise requested by your institution, your grant will be evenly 
disbursed among all terms you are enrolled in during the academic year. 
Institutions may begin requesting payments for each term according to the 
following timeline: 

• Fall – August 1 
• Winter – November 1 
• Spring – January 1 
• Summer – April 1 

Please allow approximately 6-8 weeks from the date your institution requests 
payment for your check to arrive at your school. 

https://gstg.csac.ca.gov/
https://gstg.csac.ca.gov/
https://gstg.csac.ca.gov/
mailto:goldenstateteachers@csac.ca.gov
mailto:goldenstateteachers@csac.ca.gov
http://www.csac.ca.gov/gstg
https://gstg.csac.ca.gov/
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What does it mean is my application status is “Paid in Full?”  

“Paid in Full” status means that we have processed payments equal to the 
award amount determined by your institution. This does not necessarily 
mean that all payments have been mailed, just that they are processed/in 
processing. 

Please allow 6-8 weeks for the final check(s) to arrive at your institution from 
the Paid in Full status date. 

After I submit my application, what happens? 

After you submit your application, your institution will verify your GSTG 
Program eligibility and determine your award amount. Note: Although the 
GSTG application opens in September of the academic year prior, most 
institutions wait to begin reviewing applications until closer to the start of the 
academic year (Fall term) you’re applying for. 

Once your institution determines your eligibility, you will receive a system-
generated notification from goldenstateteachers@csac.ca.gov. If your 
institution confirms you’re eligible, the email will ask you to log into your 
GSTG student portal (https://gstg.csac.ca.gov) to review and accept the 
Service Agreement (SA). Your award amount is listed in the Award Details 
section of the SA within the “requested award amount” field. Please check 
your junk/spam folder frequently, as the notification may end up in there. 
Your application must be in “Waiting SA” status to accept the SA. 

Your institution cannot request your payment(s) until you accept your SA. 
Unless otherwise requested by your institution, your grant will be evenly 
disbursed among all terms you are enrolled in during the academic year. 

Institutions may begin requesting payments for each term according to the 
following timeline: 

• Fall – August 1 

• Winter – November 1 

• Spring – January 1 

• Summer – April 1 

Please allow approximately 6-8 weeks from the date your institution requests 
payment for your check to arrive at your school. 

  

mailto:goldenstateteachers@csac.ca.gov
https://gstg.csac.ca.gov/
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Payment 

How will I know my award amount? 

Your GSTG Program award amount for the academic year is listed on your 
Service Agreement (SA). To view your SA: 

1. Log into your GSTG student portal.  
2. Select “Service Agreement” located under the Student menu. 
3. Select the academic year you accepted the grant for in the “Acad Year” 

drop-down menu and select search. 
4. Scroll to the bottom of the SA to view the “Award Details” section. The 

“requested award amount” (red box) is your award amount for the 
academic year. The “total paid in previous years” (purple box) is the total 
GSTG funds you have been awarded prior to the academic year (see 
example below): 

 

When will I receive my award? 

Your institution can request your payment(s) after you accept your SA. Unless 
otherwise requested by your institution, your grant will be evenly disbursed 
among all terms you are enrolled in during the academic year. 

Institutions may begin requesting payments for each term according to the 
following timeline: 

• Fall – August 1 
• Winter – November 1 
• Spring – January 1 
• Summer – April 1 

Please allow approximately 6-8 weeks from the date your institution requests 
payment for your check to arrive at your school. 

What can I use my GSTG award for? 

GSTG funds can be used on any academic-related expense, including the cost 
of living. Please contact your institution’s GSTG Coordinator for more 
information regarding their disbursement policies. 

For a list of GSTG Coordinators by institution, please visit the GSTG Program 
website. 

https://gstg.csac.ca.gov/
http://www.csac.ca.gov/gstg
http://www.csac.ca.gov/gstg
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Will I have to claim the GSTG on my taxes? 

The GSTG award amount should be included on your annual 1098-T form if 
the grant was directly applied to your tuition and fees by your institution. It is 
recommended that you speak with a tax professional for any tax inquiries 
beyond this information. 

Service Obligation 

Is there a service obligation in exchange for the GSTG funds? 

Yes, the commitment is documented in the Service Agreement (SA) and no 
funds are awarded until the SA is accepted by the participant. 

All GSTG recipients commit to work at an eligible priority school or California 
preschool program for 4 years within 8 years of the date they complete their 
professional preparation program. Any time working prior to completing your 
program and obtaining your credential is not counted towards the 4-year 
service requirement. 

A “priority school” is a CA public school that provides instruction in any grade 
K-12 with more than 55 percent of pupils who are classified as an English 
learner, eligible for a free or reduced-price meal, or current foster youth. 
Priority schools are not the same as Title I schools. The priority school list is 
compiled by April 15 annually using data submitted via CALPADS to the 
California Department of Education (CDE) by each public California school. 
The lists of priority schools are available on the GSTG Program website. 

When determining which list to refer to, you may use either the priority 
school list published for the year you initially received the GSTG or the list 
published for the school year you are seeking new employment for after 
completing your professional preparation program. 

Beginning with the 2023-24 school year, GSTG recipients can also earn service 
for each year they work at a California preschool program. A California 
preschool program is a state-funded or federally funded preschool program 
in California, including tribal and Head Start programs. For your convenience, 
eligible preschool programs have been added to the GSTG Priority School 
Lists beginning with the 2023-24 year. 

What is the Service Agreement (SA)? 

The SA outlines your obligations, including repayment requirements, under 
the provisions of the grant. The SA is for you to review and accept 
immediately after your institution confirms your GSTG eligibility and 
determines your award amount. The SA must be accepted within 30 days. 

To accept your SA, log into your GSTG student portal. Once logged in, select 
“Service Agreement” located under the “Student” menu and the appropriate 
academic year from the drop-down menu. 

https://www.csac.ca.gov/sites/main/files/file-attachments/golden_state_teacher_grant_program_teaching_agreement.pdf
http://www.csac.ca.gov/gstg
https://www.csac.ca.gov/sites/main/files/file-attachments/golden_state_teacher_grant_program_teaching_agreement.pdf
https://gstg.csac.ca.gov/
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What is a priority school? 

A “priority school” is a CA public school that provides instruction in any grade 
K-12 with more than 55 percent of pupils who are classified as an English 
learner, eligible for a free or reduced-price meal, or current foster youth. 
Priority schools are not the same as Title I schools. 

The priority school list is compiled by April 15 annually using data submitted 
via CALPADS to the California Department of Education (CDE) by each public 
California school. The lists of priority schools are available on the GSTG website. 
Nonpublic schools are not eligible as they do not report data to CDE. 

When determining which list to refer to, you may use either the priority 
school list published for the year you initially received the GSTG or the list 
published for the school year you are seeking new employment for after 
completing your professional preparation program. 

Can my school be added to the priority school list? 

The priority school list is compiled annually using data submitted via 
CALPADS to the California Department of Education (CDE) by each public 
California school. Nonpublic schools are not eligible as Education Code 
44395(a) limits high-priority schools to school districts [further defined in 
Education Code 44395(e)(1)] or charter schools. 

Commencing with the 2023-24 school year, you may also choose to fulfill your 
service obligation by working at an eligible California preschool program. An 
eligible preschool program is a state-funded or federally funded preschool 
program in California, including tribal and Head Start programs. Private 
preschool programs are not eligible. For your convenience, eligible preschool 
programs have been added to the GSTG Priority School Lists beginning with 
the 2023-24 year. 

If the school in question is not on the list, it did not meet the parameters of a 
priority school for the school year. If the data for the school changes to meet 
eligibility, it will be added at the next annual publishing. 

What is a California preschool program? 

A California preschool program is a state-funded or federally funded 
preschool program in California, including tribal and Head Start programs. 
Private preschool programs are not eligible. 

For your convenience, eligible preschool programs have been added to the 
GSTG Priority School Lists beginning with the 2023-24 year. When 
determining which list to refer to, you may use either the priority school list 
published for the year you initially received the GSTG or the list published for 
the school year you are seeking new employment for after completing your 
professional preparation program. 

http://www.csac.ca.gov/gstg
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Will the time I spent working at a priority school prior to completion of 
my program count towards my service obligation? 

The 4-year service obligation begins after you complete your professional 
preparation program. Any time spent working prior to completing your 
program and obtaining your credential is not counted towards the obligation. 

I am employed by a community-based organization and/or work at 
multiple school sites. Will my service count towards my 4-year 
obligation? 

Working at multiple school sites during the school year is not an issue. As 
stated in Section IV of the Service Agreement (SA), one year of service will be 
counted if: 

• You complete eligible service for at least one-half of the school year. 
• Your priority school/CA preschool program official deems you to have 

fulfilled your contractual requirements for the school year for the 
purposes of salary increases, probationary or permanent status, and 
retirement. 

So, if you are working for time equivalent to one-half the school year at one 
eligible school site, you will receive one year of service credit. If your time does 
not equal at least one-half the school year, you can still receive one year of 
service credit if your school site official certifies on your Service Obligation 
Form that you have fulfilled your contractual obligations at the eligible school 
site. 

How will I report my service towards my obligation? 

We will send an annual Service Obligation Form to the email address listed 
on your application. If you need to update your email address, please contact 
goldenstateteachers@csac.ca.gov. 

You will receive your first form in May the year after you received your initial 
GSTG payment. For example, if you received your initial payment for the 2022-
23 academic year (AY), you will receive your first form in May 2024 to capture 
any service you may have completed during the 2023-24 AY. 

Do I need to fill out the Service Obligation Form if I’m still enrolled in my 
program or have not completed any service yet? 

Yes, all GSTG recipients must complete the Service Obligation Form annually 
regardless of employment or program status during the past school year.  

https://www.csac.ca.gov/sites/main/files/file-attachments/golden_state_teacher_grant_program_teaching_agreement.pdf
mailto:goldenstateteachers@csac.ca.gov
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Repayment 

Do I have to repay the entire award if I work at a priority school for less 
than 4 years? 

The Service Agreement (SA) outlines your obligations under the provisions of 
the grant. You have 6 years to complete your program and be issued your 
preliminary teaching or pupil personnel services credential by the California 
Commission on Teacher Credentialing (CTC) from the date we mail your 
initial GSTG payment to your institution. Failure to meet this requirement will 
result in immediate placement on a 4-year Repayment Schedule for 100% of 
the grant funds disbursed to you. 

The 8-year timeframe to complete your 4-year service obligation will begin on 
the date you complete your program. At the end of the 8-year timeframe, 
they will be required to repay 25% of their total awarded amount for each year 
their service obligation is not met. For those years your obligation is met, no 
repayment will be necessary. The repayment is for funds awarded only, no 
interest. So, if your obligation is met for: 

• 1 year = Repay 75% of the awarded amount 
• 2 years = Repay 50% of the awarded amount 
• 3 years = Repay 25% of the awarded amount 
• 4 years = No Repayment, obligation complete 

The 4-year service does not need to be completed consecutively as you have 
the full 8 years to complete your obligation. Also, you may change schools 
during your service obligation period as long as you are working at eligible 
priority schools or California state preschool programs. 

The lists of eligible school sites are available on the GSTG Program website in 
the Service Obligation section. Please note, you may use either the priority 
school list published for the year you initially received the GSTG or the list 
published for the academic year you are seeking new employment for after 
completing your professional preparation program. 

Do I have to pay interest? 

No, you will not be charged interest. If you fail to meet your obligations and 
are placed on a repayment plan, you will be required to repay only the funds 
awarded. 

Do I have to repay or find a new job if my school is removed from the 
priority list? 

We will verify your employment using either the priority school list published 
for the year you initially received the GSTG or the list published for the school 
year you are hired for after completing your program. If your eligible school 
falls off the next year’s priority list after you are hired, you will be 
grandfathered eligibility as long as you remain employed there. 

http://www.csac.ca.gov/gstg
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If I know I will not be able to fulfill GSTG Program requirements and want 
to repay my award now, what do I do? 

If you still have the original check and would like to return it to us, please: 

1. Do not write anything on the check. 
2. Write a note that includes your: 

a. Full name 
b. CSAC ID 
c. Explanation about why you are returning the GSTG funds 

3. Mail the check and note together to: 
Program Administration and Services 
P.O. Box 419027 
Rancho Cordova, CA 95741-9027 

If you have deposited the original check, but would like to repay the funds in 
a lump sum or enter into a 4-year repayment plan, please email 
goldenstateteachers@csac.ca.gov. 

mailto:goldenstateteachers@csac.ca.gov
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