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CSAC 
CALIFORNIA 
STUDENT AID 
COMMISSION 

STATE OF 
CALIFORNIA SPECIAL ALERT 

Update from the California Student Aid Commission 

July 29, 2021 GSA 2021-29 

TO: Financial Aid Administrators 

Program Deputy Director, 
FROM: Tae Kang 

Administration & Services Division 

SUBJECT: Amendment to Proposed Cal Grant Program Appeal Process and Appeal Criteria 

The California Student Aid Commission (Commission) is proposing to establish a voluntary appeal 
process and appeal criteria for qualifying institutions participating in the Cal Grant Program, as 
set forth in Education Code Section 69432.7 (I)(3)(I)(iv). The Notice of Proposed Rulemaking for 
the originally proposed regulations was published in the Office of Administrative Law’s California 
Notice Register on November 27, 2020. The 45-day comment period for the regulations ended 
on January 13, 2021 and the Commission adopted the rulemaking package on January 21, 2021. 

The Commission has issued a 15-Day Public Notice for amendments to the proposed regulations. 
A copy of the Amended Proposed Regulation, Addendum Initial Statement of Reasons, and Notice 
documents are available on the Commission’s website at the following link: 
https://www.csac.ca.gov/proposed-regulations-rulemaking-documents 

The amendments to the proposed regulations: 
• Changes ‘may’ to ‘will’ regarding the consideration of specific factors by Commission staff 

in its evaluation of a submitted appeal. 
• Adds how and when the Commission will notify institutions of their appeal status following 

the submission of a complete appeal package. 

A public hearing regarding this proposal is currently not scheduled. However, any interested 
person or duly authorized representative may request, any time during the 15-day comment 
period, for a public hearing to be scheduled. 

All written comments must be RECEIVED no later than 5:00 P.M. on August 13, 2021, in 
order to be considered. Written comments received after that time will be added to the 
rulemaking file, but the Commission is not obligated to consider or respond to late comments. 

Comments may also be submitted by fax at (916) 464-8033 or by e-mail to 
Rulemaking@csac.ca.gov. The public comment period for this regulatory action opened on 
July 29, 2021. Comments must be submitted before 5:00 P.M. on August 13, 2021 to be 
considered. 

Need to contact us? 

 Institutional Support phone number: (888) 294-0153 
 E-mail: schoolsupport@csac.ca.gov 

Working together to effectively promote education beyond high school! 

P.O. Box 419027, Rancho Cordova, CA 95741-9027 Website: www.csac.ca.gov 
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