

SPECIAL ALERT



STATE OF CALIFORNIA

Update from the California Student Aid Commission

September 23, 2020

FROM:

GSA 2020-36

Financial Aid Administrators TO:

admill Steve Caldwell

Interim Deputy Director, Program Administration & Services Division

SUBJECT: California Chafee Grant Program Updates

This Special Alert from the California Student Aid Commission (Commission) announces the opening of the 2020-21 Fall term for the California Chafee Grant Program (Chafee Program). Financial aid administrators are now able to certify students and request payments.

2019-20 Remaining Funds

- As of September 21, 2020, there are \$21,834.00 in remaining Chafee funds to pay eligible students. The Commission's goal is to maximize the utilization of available funds to assist eligible foster youth.
- Institutions are required to review their Payment Roster on <u>WebGrants</u> weekly to certify and request payments for all eligible Chafee students. The Chafee payment cycle is run on Monday nights. Institutions should review their rosters on Tuesdays.

Non-Disbursed Chafee Checks

- All non-disbursed checks must be returned to the Commission within 30 business days of receipt. This will allow the Commission to maximize the utilization of available Chafee funds.
- Complete the attached form to the check and do <u>not</u> void the check. Return both to:

California Student Aid Commission PO BOX 419027 Rancho Cordova, CA 95741-9027

2019-20 Institutional Reconciliation

- The last 2019-20 *Chafee payment cycle* was processed on September 21, 2020. **The last time our system will award students based on the priority selection criteria.*
- Institutions are required to update their *Institution Reconciliation* screen to report all disbursed and returned checks by September 30, 2020.

2020-21 Chafee Awards and Eligibility

- The Commission began running the 2020-21 award process on July 27th.
- To be considered for a Chafee award, applicants (new and renewal) must submit the 2020-21 Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) or California Dream Act Application (CADAA).
- New Chafee applicants must:
 - Submit a Chafee Application The 2020-21 Chafee Application is available on the Commission's website at <u>https://chafee.csac.ca.gov/</u>.
 - Have their foster care eligibility confirmed through the California Department of Social Services (CDSS). The paper form is only necessary if CDSS does not provide the Foster Youth Eligibility information electronically.
 - Not have reached 26 years of age by July 1 of the award year.
 - Check their status and any missing requirements via their Webgrants 4 Students account located at <u>https://mygrantinfo.csac.ca.gov/</u>.

Need to contact us?

• The Commission's Chafee team is available if you need assistance or have questions: chafee@csac.ca.gov / 888-224-7268, option 3.

Working together to effectively promote education beyond high school!