
GOLDEN STATE EDUCATION AND TRAINING GRANT PROGRAM 

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS 

What is this program?  
This program is designed to encourage and support individuals who suffered COVID-
related job loss to enter, continue and complete college and job training programs. 
The program was established and funded in the 2021 California Budget Act, mainly 
with one-time federal COVID recovery dollars, to offer this one-time financial 
incentive. Half of the funds must go to individuals supporting dependent children (a 
student parent).1 

Why am I just hearing about this now?  
This new program was approved by the Legislature in July 2021. Since then, the 
California Student Aid Commission (CSAC) has been designing a phase-in strategy to 
focus outreach on, and make dollars available to, specific populations of individuals, 
with the intent to expand outreach to additional populations, on a quarterly basis, 
throughout 2022.  

What students are eligible for the grant? 
Eligible individuals must:  

• Have lost their job due to the COVID-19 pandemic
• Have not been able to find an equivalent paying job since
• Not have been enrolled in an education or training program at the time of

their job loss
• Meet the income and asset requirements associated with Cal Grant A eligibility

How much money are students eligible for? What’s the total budget for the 
program? 
CSAC intends for awards to be $2,500. In total, approximately $500 million is 
available (statewide) on a one-time basis, of which $472.5 million is available from 
federal State Fiscal Recovery Funds. 

Do these funds offset student’s financial aid, public assistance supports or 
unmet financial need?  
No. Funds must be used to supplement a student’s financial aid package and 
financial supports. Funds may not be used to replace any existing or anticipated 
grant financial resources. Since this grant is a one-time, non-recurring payment, it 
will not impact a student’s public assistance (e.g., CalWORKs) provided that, if the 

1 A “dependent child” or “dependent children” means a child or children, as applicable, under 18 years 
of age whose parent or legal guardian is the student and if the child or all the children collectively 
receive more than 50 percent of their support from the student. 
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student elects to save the grant, their savings do not exceed the $10,000 statutory 
maximum. 
 
Are the grants given to students taxable income? 
The GSETGP Grants are considered disaster relief payments.  While CSAC does not 
believe these payments are income subject to federal taxation, institutions should 
consult with their own counsel to confirm. 
 
Are the grants considered financial aid, and considered in the context of other 
financial aid students may be receiving?  
As specified by the United States Department of Education, the grant is not counted 
as income for calculating a family's Expected Family Contribution (EFC) under the 
Federal Methodology or as estimated financial assistance for packaging purposes. 
 
Do colleges provide matching funds? 
To the extent practicable, colleges are encouraged to match the GSETGP grants with 
college, private or other resources. 
 
Where can individuals enroll using this grant?  
Phase 1 is limited to California’s public colleges and universities. In future phases, 
regional K12 Adult Education and approved training programs will be eligible to 
receive funds. Individuals enrolled in only these institutions are eligible to receive a 
grant. Grant funding should be used to access an educational program or qualified 
training program at an institution of higher education or to obtain training from a 
provider that is included on the state’s Eligible Training Provider List. 
 
Are individuals enrolled in a bachelor’s degree program or Graduate Program 
eligible for the grant? 
Yes, as long as these individuals were not enrolled in their program at the time of 
their job loss.  
 
Are individuals who were not formally laid off, but had a decrease in wages due 
to COVID-19, eligible for the grant? 
To be a displaced worker, individuals would have to had lost their jobs completely, 
and not just experience a decrease in wages or business.  
 
Will applicants need to fill out a FAFSA or California Dream Act application to 
apply? 
No. This program is outside the traditional student financial aid system and will use a 
separate stand-alone application that can be accessed on CSAC’s website. That said, 
we always encourage students enrolling in college to complete the FAFSA or Dream 
Act application.  
 
How will individuals know about this grant opportunity? 
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During Phase 1 CSAC is using FAFSA/Dream Act data to focus the promotion of this 
grant directly to students (via email). CSAC has also outreached to campus-based 
programs serving low-income student parents to better promote the program. 
 
Why is CSAC implementing this program in phases?  
This is a new program for CSAC that does not use the FAFSA/Dream Act Application 
as the basis for the award. As such, we needed to put new systems in place, 
including direct outreach to potential applicants and a stand-alone application. We 
want the opportunity to test those systems rather than inviting all individuals to 
apply at once.   
 
Additionally, the implementing statute requires that half the program dollars be 
awarded to student parents. To this end, CSAC chose to focus initially (in Phase 1) on 
student parents, in particular those who are receiving CalWORKs assistance 
(through the county) for themselves and/or their child(ren).  
 
When will the Phase 1 online application be “live”?  
Beginning in mid-March 2022, individuals will be able to apply online at: 
www.gsetg.csac.ca.gov 
 
How complicated is the application?  
The application is brief and simple. Students will be asked to login to their existing 
CSAC account, or be asked to create one.  
 
Students with a FAFSA or California Dream Act application on file will not need to 
provide financial information. Those without those financial aid applications on file 
will be required to provide their income and asset information to verify financial 
eligibility for this program. 
 
The application form will ask up front if a student and/or their child(ren) are receiving 
support from their local county CalWORKs program. If they certify “yes” the 
application will bypass the need to input income and asset data.  
 
Are student parents eligible to apply throughout the program?  
Yes. We will continue to accept applications from each of the prior phases 
throughout the entirety of the program timeline. 
 
Are undocumented students eligible to apply and receive funding? 
Yes, undocumented students are eligible for state funds and encouraged to apply to 
the program. Undocumented students with or without a California Dream Act ID will 
be able to apply using the online application. If students face any issues with their 
application, they should reach out to CSAC at GSETGP@CSAC.CA.GOV to work with 
program analysts regarding the issue they are facing.  
 
What is the role of college financial aid offices? 

http://www.gsetg.csac.ca.gov/
mailto:GSETGP@CSAC.CA.GOV
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CSAC will process the applications and, via its customary financial aid channels, 
provide college financial aid offices with a roster of awardees along with the funds 
(via paper checks). College financial aid offices will be responsible for ensuring that 
the student was enrolled at some point during the academic year and for disbursing 
the funds directly to the student.  
 
How often are students added to the institution’s roster in WebGrants? 
Applicants are added to the institution's roster on a rolling basis, as applicants apply 
and meet the eligibility requirements of the grant. Financial aid offices are then 
encouraged to regularly check the GSETGP roster to verify student enrollment.  
 
Do students have to be enrolled full time in for-credit instruction?  
No. Students need to be enrolled but there is neither a minimum unit requirement 
nor a satisfactory academic progress requirement. Non-credit students are eligible 
for the grant and encouraged to apply.  
 
How can California community college non-credit students, students at UC 
extension campuses, or students in California State University continuing 
education programs apply? 
These students are welcome to apply with the main campus associated with their 
program. For example, a student enrolled in an Los Angeles City College non-credit 
course would apply with Los Angeles City College and a student at UC Los Angeles 
Extension Campus would apply with UC Los Angeles. The financial aid offices at the 
respective main campuses should then work together with the other programs to 
ensure that the student’s enrollment is verified and they can receive their funding.  
 
Can students who withdrew from their classes have their enrollment verified? 
If a student is not presently enrolled at the time of enrollment verification—and was 
not enrolled in another term or semester of the academic year—they cannot have 
their enrollment verified at that time.  
 
Should students still receive their grant funding if they withdrew or failed their 
classes after their enrollment was verified? 
Yes. Since the student was enrolled at the time of enrollment verification, they are 
eligible for the grant funding.  
 
Can checks be mailed to the student? 
CSAC will mail student’s checks to their respective institution. Institutions are 
welcome to mail that check to their student, but first verify that the mailing address 
for the student is accurate and consider sending the check through certified mail, as 
the check replacement process is lengthy.   
 
How long can an institution keep a check for the student to pick up? 
CSAC’s goal is to get the funding to the student as soon as possible. The check itself 
can hold for a year, but as soon as the institution is able to arrange pick up or mailing 
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it to the student would be best. If after 30 business days and three attempts to reach 
the student (via email and phone), the student still has not coordinated their check 
pickup, please follow up with the GSETGP Team at gsetgp@csac.ca.gov.  
 
Can student enrollment be verified via batch enrollment, like the Cal Grant? 
No. Since this is a smaller and shorter-term program, the batch enrollment process is 
not available.  
 
Can a student be eligible if they were already enrolled at the time if they were 
displaced from work, if they changed their major or program? 
No, these students would not be eligible for the program. The statute specifies that 
eligible applicants for the GSETGP are students who were not already accessing an 
educational or training program 
 
Administration Costs 
Colleges will receive 1% of the funds allocated to the institution to cover 
administrative costs. This funding will be processed and sent to campuses following 
the conclusion of the Academic Year, after CSAC’s deadline to verify student 
enrollment for GSETGP. Indirect costs incurred by the colleges attributed to the 
federal State Fiscal Recovery Funds are limited to 10 percent of direct administrative 
costs, pursuant to federal guidance. 
 
This funding is not required to be deposited into a separate fund dedicated to 
GSETGP funding. However, GSETGP statute specifies “Institutions of higher 
education administering this grant program through their campuses may use up to 
1 percent of the amount allocated to their campuses for purposes of this section to 
support direct costs to administer the program.” As a result, higher education 
institutions should track how, where and when GSETGP administrative cost 
allocations are spent to ensure that it meets the requirement of this funding being 
used to administer the program. Though CSAC will not request documentation of 
this spending, documentation must be saved in case of potential auditing. 
  
Costs to administer the program include—but are not limited to—personnel costs, 
supplies and training. 
 
Reporting Requirements 
Each college is required to confirm an applicant’s enrollment status. CSAC will report 
on other demographic information, including race/ethnicity, status as a parent, and 
documentation status on a quarterly basis. Additional reporting requests may also 
be made by CSAC.  
 
Records are required to be retained for 5 years past December 31, 2026 (the end of 
period of performance).  

### 

mailto:gsetgp@csac.ca.gov
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fleginfo.legislature.ca.gov%2Ffaces%2Fcodes_displayText.xhtml%3FlawCode%3DEDC%26division%3D5.%26title%3D3.%26part%3D42.%26chapter%3D2.%26article%3D9.&data=05%7C01%7CKrishnee.Shankar%40csac.ca.gov%7C46ea07e3207c46f0373808dadee1dbac%7C0813557df08148d4a5b7aa30aacd839a%7C0%7C0%7C638067358887970522%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=xmQIKsfKkJA8n1bFJfN%2B4J3rgIiOiOcg%2FqBm7xFd5gQ%3D&reserved=0

