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Program Overview Questions

1. What is the California Dream Act Service Incentive Grant (DSIG) Program?
DSIG encourages California Dream Act Application (CADAA) students to perform
community or volunteer service. The grant will be available to students for up to 8
semesters or up to 12 quarters while they have an active Cal Grant A or B award. Cal
Grant A recipients must have met Cal Grant B eligibility. Students shall perform at least
150 hours per semester or 100 hours per quarter of commmunity or volunteer service with
a qualifying service organization.

2. How many DSIG awards are available?
The program is limited to 1,667 participants annually. Students must meet the criteria
for an eligible student, attend a qualifying institution, and perform the required service
hours with a qualifying organization.

Potentially eligible students will be notified by CSAC when the application period opens.
3. How much can students receive?

The California Student Aid Commission (CSAC) will award up to $4,500 per academic
year (up to $2,250 per semester or up to $1,500 per quarter).
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Eligibility Questions

1. Whois eligible for DSIG?
e Students with a completed and submitted California Dream Act Application
(CADAA) for the interested academic year.
e Active recipients of a Cal Grant A or Cal Grant B award. Cal Grant A recipients must
have met Cal Grant B eligibility.
e Students with enough financial need (determined by CSAC or the institution).
e Students enrolled at a qualifying institution on the CSAC website.

Students must also meet Satisfactory Academic Progress and complete any necessary
verification for their Cal Grant A or B award.

2. How will the Cal Grant Reform Act (as outlined in AB 1746) impact DSIG eligibility if
it is enacted?
As announced in GSA 2022-46, the Cal Grant Reform Act would replace the existing Cal
Grant program with a new version that provides a Cal Grant 2 for eligible California
community college students with financial need and provides a Cal Grant 4 for eligible
four-year university students with financial need.

In the spring of 2024, a final determination will be made on whether the Cal Grant
Reform Act will be enacted. More information about how Cal Grant Reform will impact
DSIG eligibility will be provided following spring of 2024.

3. What is unmet need and how does it affect DSIG?
Need is established by taking the cost of attendance and subtracting expected family
contribution (EFC)/student aid index (SAIl). Institutions must provide the students
annual unmet need on the Grant Application and determine whether the student has
the minimum annual need required to participate in DSIG.

Semester students:
e Must have an annual unmet need of at least $900 to participate in DSIG.
e Cannot have their term payments exceed 50% of their annual unmet need per
term.
o For example, a student with $900 of annual unmet need will have DSIG
term payments of $450.
o Will still be expected to complete 150 hours per payment request.

Quarter students:
e Must have an annual unmet need of at least $1,350 to participate in DSIC.
e Cannot have their term payments exceed 33.33% of their annual unmet need per
term.
o Forexample, a student with $1,350 of annual unmet need will have DSIG
term payments of $450.
e Will still be expected to complete 100 hours per payment request.
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Students should consult with their financial aid office for information regarding their
current unmet need.

4. Can a Cal Grant A student that was financially ineligible for Cal Grant B in their
initial award year but currently meets the Cal Grant B income and asset ceilings be
eligible for DSIG?

Yes. Cal Grant A students who were not eligible for Cal Grant B in their initial award year
will have P/E Reason Codes 88 & 16 next to their Cal Grant B consideration in their initial
award year. This can be seen in the Student Award Summary Screen in WebGrants for
Institutions. A Grant Application Appeal will need to be submitted with their Grant
Application. Please email dsig@csac.ca.gov to request the Grant Application Appeal.

Example:
Award

Academic Program Application Award Status Award Cycle School P/E C/E cc

Year Name Status Status Date Amount T D D Reason T Reason T Reserve T
2022-2023 A F-ECMPL @ FINELIG @ 08/19/2022 $12,570 E1 @ N
2021-2022 A F-ECMPL @ FINELIG @ 08/13/2021 $12,570 E1 @ N
2020-2021 A F-ECMPL @ AUTO ACC @ pe/18/2020 $12,570 E1 @ N
2020-2021 B F-ECMPL @ COMMWTH @ 0/09/2020 $1,656 E1 @ » 8816 @ N

5. How long can students receive DSIG?
A student can receive DSIG for as long as they have an active Cal Grant A or B award. As
a reminder, Cal Grant A recipients must have met Cal Grant B eligibility. Students can
receive the grant for up to 8 semesters or 12 quarters. When a student has exhausted
their Cal Grant A or B eligibility, they will also no longer be allowed to participate in
DSIG.

6. Is DSIG open to undergraduates only?
No, 5" year Teacher Credential Program (TCP) students are eligible. Students can
receive the grant for up to 8 semesters or 12 quarters. When a student has exhausted
their Cal Grant A or B eligibility, they will also no longer be allowed to participate in
DSIG.

7. Do Foster Youth qualify for extended eligibility?
No, students can only receive the grant for up to 8 semesters or 12 quarters. When a
student has exhausted their Cal Grant A or B eligibility, they will also no longer be
allowed to participate in DSIGC.
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8. Should DSIG awards be included as a source of aid in enroliment files for the Middle
Class Scholarship (MCS)?
Please see the most recent Middle Class Scholarship Handbook and/or MCS Eligibility
Programs document to verify if DSIG awards should be included as a source aid for MCS
awarding: https://www.csac.ca.gov/post/middle-class-scholarship-O.

9. Are students attending school less than half-time eligible?
No, in order to receive the grant, a student must be enrolled at least half-time.

Application Questions

1. How do students apply for DSIG?
Students will need to apply annually to participate in DSIG. The DSIG Grant Application
and instructions can be found on the Apply webpage.

The DSIG award should be part of the self-help portion of the student award package
(loans and work study) and follow campus award packaging guidelines. Any verification
requirements must be completed per campus policy.

2. When is the application due?
Applications are available beginning July 1st and will be accepted through the end of
the academic year (June 30*) or until all awards are exhausted, whichever comes first.

3. Does DSIG eligibility rollover?
No, DSIG eligibility is based on the corresponding Cal Grant award year. Students will
need to apply annually to participate in the DSIG Program. The program is open from
July 1to June 30 and follows the annual academic year.

4. What if students transfer to another institution?
Students will need to re-register and submit a new Grant Application form with
validation from the new institution.

5. What if students attend more than one institution?
Students must select one campus in charge of disbursement. Students should consult
with their financial aid office for more information.

Community and Volunteer Service Questions

1. Where can students perform service hours?
Students can volunteer with any non-profit or local government entity on the List of
Service Organizations. Non-profits or local government entities not on the List of Service
Organizations can be added if they meet the criteria for a qualifying community or
volunteer service organization.

Students can also volunteer with any school on the Cal Grant Eligible Schools list on the
CSAC website. On-campus community or volunteer service organizations affiliated with
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a Cal Grant eligible school, such as outreach, student services, and multi-cultural
organizations are deemed eligible and do not require additional registration. Please
note that these organizations are NOT included on the List of Service Organizations.

2. What is a qualifying community or volunteer service organization?
e A nonprofit as defined in Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code.
e Any federal, state, or local government entity.
e Any school on the Cal Grant Eligible Schools list on the CSAC website.

3. What requirements does a service organization need to meet to participate?

¢ Organization shall have been established for a minimum of two years before the first
date on which a participating student begins performing service hours to qualify for
this program.

¢ Community or volunteer service performed by the participating student is not
advocacy of a political, social, or religious nature.

¢ Community or volunteer service is related to the participating student’s field of study
or is in furtherance of community service or a community need.

4. What volunteer activities are permissible under the requirement that “The
community or volunteer service performed by the participating student is not
advocacy of a political, social, or religious nature?”

A student cannot volunteer for an organization that engages exclusively in political,
social, or religious advocacy. Therefore, participating students can only work on tasks
that are unrelated to advocacy efforts for organizations that have a mix of advocacy and
non-advocacy programs.

CSAC will validate this requirement by reviewing all of the activities listed on the Service
Hour Tracker that the accepted student submits with their Payment Requests and
verify that the activities were not directly tied to any political, social, or religious
advocacy, as described in the paragraph above.

Contact dsig@csac.ca.gov if you still have questions about this requirement.

5. Can students volunteer at more than one service organization at a time?
Yes. There is no limit to the number of organizations students can volunteer with. All
organizations must meet the requirements of a qualifying service organization.

Students volunteering with multiple service organizations must submit a Grant
Application Supplemental form with their Grant Application.

6. Are students required to complete a Live Scan to participate in DSIG?

No. Background checks are not required to participate in DSIG. However, some service
organizations may require Live Scan or other types of background checks.
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Payment Request Questions

1. How many hours must students complete before payment?
Students can request payment after performing at least 150 hours per semester or 100
hours per quarter of community or volunteer service.

2. Can students who have completed less than the required number of hours request
a partial payment?
No, a student may only request payment after completing the required number of
hours.

3. Students completed the required service hours. How do they request payment?
Students can request payment after performing at least 150 hours per semester or 100
hours per quarter of community or volunteer service.

Students must submit the Payment Request form along with documentation of the
service hours performed. The Payment Request form and instructions can be found on
the Request Payment webpage.

4. How do students show CSAC they completed the required number of service
hours?
Documentation of service hours performed can be submitted on the DSIG Program
Service Hours Tracker or on any other type of documentation utilized by the service
organization(s) if the documentation includes the name and signature of the certifying
official.

Institutions do not validate service hours and their completion.

5. Does the student need to complete their hours within the term they will be
requesting payment?
No. If the student is accepted into the program, once they have completed their
required 150 hours per semester or 100 hours per quarter, they can request payment as
long as the hours are completed within the academic year (July 1through June 30).

6. Is there a deadline to request a DSIG payment?
Yes. DSIG payment deadline is the same as the Cal Grant payment deadline in
September following the award year. However, student must complete their required
hours for DSIG (150 hours per semester/100 hours per quarter) within the academic year
the student is accepted into the program.

7. Can a student receive a DSIG Payment without being disbursed a Cal Grant
Payment?
No. Students need to be actively enrolled and receiving Cal Grant payments to receive
their DSIG disbursements. This means that a Cal Grant Payment must occur for each
DSIG Payment.
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8. Enrollment dropped below half time, what happens to the student’s award?
DSIG will follow your standard Cal Grant A or B payment process. Payments will be
made based on the recipient’s enrollment status using the institution’s add/drop date,
financial aid census date, or its equivalent. Students should consult with their financial
aid office for information on how changing enrollment status can affect their financial
aid.

9. How will students with less than $4,500 of annual unmet need be paid?
As a reminder, semester students must have an annual unmet need of at least $900
and quarter students must have an annual unmet need of at least $1,350 to participate
in DSIG.

Semester students:
e Cannot have their term payments exceed 50% of their annual unmet need per
term.
o Forexample, a student with $200 of annual unmet need will have term
payments of $450.
o Wil still be expected to complete 150 hours per payment request.

Quarter students:
e Cannot have their term payments exceed 33.33% of their annual unmet need per
term.
o For example, a student with $1,350 of annual unmet need will have term
payments of $450.
o Will still be expected to complete 100 hours per payment request.

10. How will students be paid for service?
DSIG payments are disbursed via check and mailed to the institution’s Financial Aid
Office. The check is made out to the student and in care of the institution. The Financial
Aid Office will need to notify the student once the check is available for pick up or
disburse into student account at the institution.

11. Can DSIG funds be used to pay a student’s existing balance?
DSIG disbursement must align with existing published institutional policies for Cal Grant
access disbursements. Therefore, institutions must notify or post their campus Cal Grant
payment policy and allow students to directly receive their DSIG payment if they request
them.

12. Who is notified of an approved Payment Request?
The student and financial aid administrator on the Payment Request will receive an
email notification of an approved payment once the student’s check is mailed to the
institution’s Financial Aid Office.

If a Payment Request is incomplete, the student will receive an email notification letting
them know what revisions are required.
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13. What is the processing time for a Payment Request?
Standard processing time for Payment Requests is 4-6 weeks. This processing time
includes CSAC staff validating a Payment Request, requesting the check from the
California State Controller's Office (SCO) and delivery of the checks to the institution’s
financial aid office. Delays may occur due to state fiscal year end processing and/or
natural disasters.

14. What are the DSIG disbursement policies for check handling?
For check handling, if a student is accepted into the program and their Payment
Request has been approved, no one, under any circumstance, is allowed to pick up
check on behalf of a recipient. According to generally accepted accounting practices,
the institution is required to keep the recipient's signature on file to verify the recipient
received the check.

15. Are DSIG awards considered taxable income?
Institutions are advised to seek guidance from tax counsel.
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