

SPECIAL ALERT



STATE OF

Update from the California Student Aid Commission

July 01, 2019

GSA 2019-18

TO: Financial Aid Administrators

FROM: Catalina G. Mistler Catalina G. Mistler Deputy Director, Program Administration & Services Division

SUBJECT: California Chafee Grant Program Updates

This Special Alert from the California Student Aid Commission (Commission) announces the opening of the 2018-19 Summer term for the California Chafee Grant Program (Chafee Program). Financial aid administrators are now able to certify students and request payments.

2018-19 Remaining Funds

- At the time of this special alert, there are \$668,263 in remaining Chafee funds to pay eligible students. The Commission's goal is to maximize the utilization of available funds for the Chafee program.
- Institutions are encouraged to review their Payment Roster on <u>WebGrants</u> to certify and request payments for all eligible Chafee students.

Non-Disbursed Chafee Checks

- All non-disbursed checks must be returned to the Commission within 30 business days of receipt. This will allow the Commission to maximize the utilization of available Chafee funds.
- Complete the attached form to the check and do <u>not</u> void the check. Return both to:

California Student Aid Commission PO BOX 419027 Rancho Cordova, CA 95741-9027

2018-19 Institutional Reconciliation

- Students can apply for 2018-19 Chafee awards until August 30, 2019.
- The last 2018-19 *Chafee payment cycle** will be processed on September 23, 2019 *The last time our system will award students based on the priority selection criteria.
- Institutions should update their *Institution Reconciliation* screen to report all disbursed and returned checks by September 27, 2019.

2019-20 Chafee Awards and Eligibility

- The Commission anticipates running the 2019-20 award process in mid-July.
- To be considered for a Chafee award, applicants (new and renewal) must submit the 2019-20 Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) or California Dream Act Application (CADAA).
- New Chafee applicants must:
 - Submit a Chafee Application The 2019-20 Chafee Application is available on the Commission's website at <u>https://chafee.csac.ca.gov/</u>.
 - Have their foster care eligibility confirmed through the California Department of Social Services (CDSS). The paper form is only necessary if CDSS does not provide the Foster Youth Eligibility information electronically.
 - Not have reached 26 years of age by July 1 of the award year.

Need to contact us?

• The Commission's Chafee team is available if you need assistance or have questions: chafee@csac.ca.gov / 888-224-7268, option 3.

Working together to effectively promote education beyond high school!