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Eligibility 
 

1. How is a “dependent child” defined? 
 
According to Article 9. Awards for Students with Dependent Children, 
section 69465, in Chapter 1.7 of Part 42 of Division 5 of Title 3 of the 
Education Code, a “dependent child” or “dependent children” means a child 
or children, as applicable, under 18 years of age whose parent or legal 
guardian is the student and if the child or all the children collectively receive 
more than 50 percent of their support from the student.  

 
A parent is defined as someone who has a biological and/or legally adopted 
child. 

 
A legal guardian is defined as someone other than the child’s biological 
parent who accepts legal responsibility for the child. 

 
2. A student had a child during the 2023-24 academic year, are they 

eligible for the SWD increase? 
 
No, to qualify for the SWD award in the 2023-24 academic year, the student 
must have a qualifying dependent child born prior to July 1, 2023. A child 
born during the 2023-24 academic year will count toward 2024-25 SWD 
eligibility. 
 

3. Will students who complete the CA Dream Act Application also be 
considered for SWD? 
 
Yes, students who complete the CA Dream Act Application will also be 
considered for SWD. 

 
4. Which Cal ISIR/ISIR transaction will be used to determine initial 

eligibility? 
 

The most recent, complete Cal ISIR/ISIR (with EFC) will be used to 
determine initial eligibility. 
 

5. Will CSAC reconsider a student for SWD if there are changes that now 
make the student potentially eligible for SWD? 

 
Yes, if the student has a Cal Grant award, CSAC will reconsider the student 
for SWD. These changes must be indicated on the FAFSA or CA Dream Act 
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Application so that the student can be reprocessed using the latest ISIR/Cal 
ISIR. Once those changes are made, an institution must submit a grant 
record change (G-21) indicating in the ‘REASON’ section to reconsider the 
student using the ISIR that reflects the changes for the student. Also, 
include whether the school has determined eligibility, i.e., ‘the student is 
eligible for SWD’. Record change requests will be processed bi-weekly, at 
which time, institutions will be able to process SWD payments. 
 
Students also have the option to submit a Confirmation of Eligibility for 
Students with Dependents (G-60) form to CSAC to have SWD reinstated. 
This does not process the student for payment. Reinstatement requests will 
be processed bi-weekly, at which time, institutions will be able to process 
SWD payments. 

  

6. Can SWD be awarded to students who have the same dependent 
child/children under the age of 18? 

 
Yes, if both students meet the criteria for Cal Grant eligibility, they will be 
eligible for the SWD grant if they both have enough unmet need. 

 
7. Does SWD eligibility rollover? 
 

No, SWD eligibility is based on the corresponding Cal Grant award year. 
 
8. Once certified, does the SWD certification rollover into the next 

academic year? 
 

No, the certification is only valid for the current academic year. The student 
will have to re-certify every year. 

 
9. How do we pay SWD awards for students who are not meeting SAP?  
 

Institutions should refer to their SAP policies. 
 

10.  Which schools are eligible to receive SWD award? 

Students attending University of California, California State University, 
California Community College, or Private Non-Profit institution are eligible.  
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Reporting 
 
1. What is to be reported for students without unmet or limited need?  

 
An adjusted amount based on the student’s unmet need should be 
reported. 

 
2. Can institutions report the SWD certified status via Grant Roster 

Batch Upload? 
 

Institutions will not be able to certify the SWD certified status using the 
Grant Roster Batch Upload process.  

 
3. Are California Community Colleges able to pay Cal Grant A access 

awards? 
 

Yes, if a student is SWD eligible, California Community Colleges can pay Cal 
Grant A access awards. 

 
4. Is the SWD code removed if a student certifies as not having 

dependent children under the age of 18?  
 
Yes, once a student or institution has certified the student as NOT 
having dependent children, the system will revert to the base award 
amounts and remove the SWD system identifier.  
 

5. Can institutions view which students have certified “No” to having 
children under the age of 18, either through a report or a customized 
roster? 

 
No, there is no mechanism in WebGrants to identify students who have 
certified ‘No’ to the SWD question. 

 
6. How do institutions handle conflicting information?  

 
Institutions are required to resolve any conflicting information prior to 
distributing funds, including SWD increased access portion. If the student 
is no longer eligible for SWD after having initially been certified by the 
student/institution, institutions can now use the Grant Application-MG21 
screen in WebGrants to have the SWD status flag changed.  

 

7. How can institutions customize their roster to view which students 
have (or have NOT) certified their SWD eligibility? 
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The “Customize Roster” screen in WebGrants (WebGrants > 
Roster/Reconciliation> Customize Roster) includes a flag which provides the 
status of the student’s SWD certification. A value of ‘Y’ indicates that the SWD 
eligibility has been confirmed and the payment hold has been released. A 
value of ‘N’ indicates that the certification is still pending, and the award is still 
on hold (see Figure 2). Rosters can now be customized in WebGrants based on 
this flag to allow users to view students who have (or have NOT) confirmed 
their SWD status (see Figure 3 and Figure 4). 

Figure 1: 2023-2024 SWD Award Amounts by Enrollment Status  

Enrollment 
Status 

Eligibility Used SWD Award 
Amount ($6,000) 

FT – Semester 50% $3,000 
FT – Quarter 33.33% $2,000 

TT – Semester 37.50% $2,250 
TT – Quarter 25% $1,500 

HT – Semester 25% $1,500 
HT – Quarter 16.67% $1,000 

 

Figure 2: Online Roster SWD Confirmation Flag 
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Figure 3: Customize Roster – Add New Data Element 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Figure 4: Customize Roster – Updated Selection Criteria 

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

 

To create a Custom Roster that 
only shows SWD students who 
are still on hold pending 
certification of their SWD 
eligibility, selecting ‘Yes’ 
checkbox from Student with 
Dependent and ‘No’ checkbox 
from Student with Dependent 
Confirmation fields respectively. 
To create a Custom Roster that 
only shows SWD students who 
have certified their SWD 
eligibility, select the ‘Yes’ 
checkbox from Student with 
Dependent and ‘Yes’ checkbox 
from Student with Dependent 
Confirmation fields respectively.  

 

From the “Data Elements Available” field, select “SWD CONF”, then select the “Add” button. 
Then once added, you may move to the next section of the Customize Roster Screen or save 
Roster Format on the bottom.  
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