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The California Chafee Grant for Foster Youth Program (Chafee Grant)
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQS)

Eligibility
What are the eligibility requirements to receive the Chafee Grant?

To be eligible for the Chafee Grant, a student must meet the following eligibility
criteria:

e Not have reached your 26th birthday as of July 1st of the award year.
AND

e Be acurrent or former foster youth who was a dependent or ward of the
court, living a in out-of-home foster care placement, between the ages of 16
and 18.

OR

e Be ayouth who was placed in out-of-home care by a tribe or tribal
organization between the ages of 16-18.

A student was adopted, are they eligible for the Chafee Grant?
Youth who are/were in Kin-GAP, a non-related legal guardianship or were adopted,

are not eligible unless the youth was a dependent or ward of the court, living in
foster care, at some point between the ages of 16 and 18.

How long can a student receive the Chafee Grant?

In accordance with California Education Code 69519, a student’s receipt of a Chafee
Grant award shall not exceed five years (whether or not consecutive).

What Institutions qualify for the Chafee Grant?

All institutions that are eligible to participate in the Cal Grant program may
participate in the Chafee Grant program. Vocational and technical schools may also
participate in the Chafee Grant if Cal Grant eligible.

Out-of- state institutions who provide at least two Title IV financial aid programs,

have a three-year cohort default rate that is less than 15.5 percent and a graduation
rate greater than 30 percent.
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https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=69519.&lawCode=EDC

Can a student attend a school outside the State of California?

Yes, if the out-of-state institution provides at least two Title IV financial aid programs,
has a three-year cohort default rate that is less than 15.5 percent and a graduation
rate greater than 30 percent. Keep in mind out-of-state school participation is
voluntary.

Awarding

A student was on my roster last year but is missing from this year’s roster, what
happened?

In all likelihood, the student has aged out of the program or has received five years of
payments. Check the Student Application Status screen for the previous academic
year.

What does the “Eligible - Not Awarded"” status mean for a student?

“Eligible — Not Awarded” status means we have received all components for the
Chafee Grant application. The Commission will review the FAFSA or CADAA and
Chafee Grant Application for award consideration.

Awards for the upcoming academic year begin processing in July. Your status can
change as awards are processed weekly. Your award status can also change based
on how awards are prioritized.

The majority of Chafee Grant awards are initiated during the fall term and additional
awards are offered year-round based on available federal and state funding each
year.

How are awards prioritized?

Student's completed applications are sorted by application date, and awards are
offered based on the following priority selection criteria:

1. Paid renewal students who have not reached their 26" birthday as of July 1 of
the award year.

2. New and non-paid renewal students who will be 25 years old as of July 1°* of
the award year.

3. New and non-paid renewal students who have dependents.

4. New and non-paid renewal students who have an unmet need of $5,000 or
more.

5. New and non-paid renewal students who have an unmet need of less than
$5,000.

Students selected for an award will be notified via email.
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When are awards offered?

Before awards are offered, all students will be listed as Eligible—Not awarded. Chafee
funds for the Academic Year are awarded in the third week of July for the upcoming
fall semester.

Payment Requests
How do | request payments for Chafee?
Please refer to the Chafee Payment Guide.
My student is attending a single term, but their unmet need seems low?

If you have unselected a term attending, please reevaluate the cost of attendance
and other aid. A good practice is to unselect the term first and then complete the
financial eligibility section of the payment roster. This will help avoid over reporting
other aid.

My student’s check amount seems off, what can be done about this?

If the amount issued is too low take a look at the payment roster. Understand that
the cost of attendance and unmet need fields are set at the annual level. Payments
are then split per term. Selecting more than one term attending will result lower
payouts. If you said the student was attending fall and spring and has an unmet
need of $2,000, and only request payment for spring, you will be sent $1,000 for the
student. If the student’s need was $2,000 go back into the roster and uncheck non
applicable terms and save the record. After the weekly job run an additional
payment for the difference will be issued.

Will a student receive $5,000 all at once?

No, the award will be determined based on your financial need. We also divide the
award by the terms attended. For example:

Students attending a semester term school will receive 2 payments, if they attend
both semesters. Students attending a quarter term school will receive 3 payments, if
they attend all three quarters. Students in a year-round term program will receive 4
payments if they attend every quarter (including summer) in the academic year.

Below is an example of a student’s payout at various institution types assuming the
student has $5,000 in unmet need, attends all required terms, and is enrolled at least
half time.

Attending | Semester1 | Semester 2 Total:
a semester | $2,500 $2,500 $5,000
school
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Attending | Quarter1 Quarter 2 Quarter 3 Total:
a 3-quarter | $1,667 $1,667 $1,666 $5,000
school

Attending | Quarter Quarter 2 Quarter 3 Quarter 4 Total:
a 4-quarter | $1,250 $1,250 $1,250 $1,250 $5,000
school

The student had over $5,000 in need but only attended one semester. How
much will they receive?

Consult the chart above. For each term completed, the student will qualify for the
corresponding award amount. If a student only attend a single semester or a single

qguarter, they will only receive a single payment that academic year.

A student attended the fall term, was paid for the fall and is not in attendance
for the spring. Should | mark them, “not enrolled?”

No, if a student was in attendance for a term, just use the term attending boxes to
show nonattendance.

Disbursing Chafee Funds

My student dropped below half time or is no longer enrolled after | requested
payment. What should |1 do?

Funds may be disbursed to a student if the student was eligible at the time Chafee
funds were requested. Please check student eligibility prior to requesting funds. If
the student's status changes after funds are requested, please follow institution
policy.

I need to return Chafee funds to the Commission, how do | do that?

Please refer to the Chafee Payment Guide.

Renewing the Chafee Grant

Do students have to submit the Chafee Application and CDSS verification every
year?

No, to renew the Chafee Grant, the student must complete a financial aid
application for the upcoming school year.
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