
      
 

    
       

        

  

 

  
   

             
       

             

    
    

      
  

           

     

        

 
       

 

    
    

  

 

     

  

  
 

The Cal Grant is FREE money for college you don’t have to pay back. To qualify, you must submit the Free
Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) or California Dream Act Application (CADAA) by the deadline and meet 
the eligibility and financial requirements as well as any minimum GPA requirements. 

Cal Grants can be used at any University of California (UC), California State University (CSU) or California 
Community College (CCC), as well as qualifying independent and career colleges or technical schools in California. 

There are three kinds of Cal Grants — A, B, and C — but you don’t have to figure out which one to apply for. You will 
be considered for all three and your eligibility will be based on your FAFSA or CADAA responses, your verified Cal
Grant GPA, and the type of California colleges you list on your financial aid application. 

The Cal Grant Expansion for California Community College students allows students to be eligible for an entitlement 
Cal Grant despite not having been awarded at the time of their high school graduation. Students must submit their 
FAFSA or CADAA by September 2nd and attend a CCC to be eligible. Students who are awarded may remain eligible 
to receive their award if they transfer to a UC or CSU. 

Students at CCC’s, CSU’s and UC campuses with dependent children < 18 years of age for whom they provide more 
than 50% support can qualify. The new Access Award pays up to $6,000 for qualifying Cal Grant A and B recipients; 
or up to $4,000 for eligible Cal Grant C recipients. 

The Foster Youth Access Award provides additional Cal Grant benefits to current or former foster youth attending 
public institutions. Eligible Cal Grant A and B students may receive an access award of up to $6,000 and Cal Grant C
students may receive an access award of up to $4,000. 

CAL GRANT A 
Deadline: March 2 
3.0 high school GPA required 

• $12,570 at University of California (UC)*

• $5,742 at California State University (CSU)*

• $9,084 at qualifying private California colleges*
• $4,000 at qualifying for-profit institutions*

• If you attend a California Community College,
your grant is held in reserve until you transfer.

CAL GRANT B 

Deadline: March 2 
2.0 high school GPA required 

• $1,648* CCC: $1,648
• First year at a 4-year university: $1,648
• After first year: $1,648 plus same tuition and fees

amount as Cal Grant A

CAL GRANT C 
Deadline: March 2 
• $547 for books, tools, and equipment for technical or ca-

reer education programs*

• $2,462 for tuition (if not attending a California Community
College)*

CAL GRANT TRANSFER ENTITLEMENT 
Deadline: March 2 
2.4 community college GPA required 

• Transfer from a California Community College to a four-

year university
• Must be under the age of 28

*Go to www.csac.ca.gov for current award amounts

Cal Grant Eligibility Requirements 
• Be a U.S. citizen or an eligible non-citizen or AB540 eligible

• Be a California resident or AB540 eligible

• Attend a qualifying California college or university

• Demonstrate financial need

• Be enrolled at least half-time in a program leading to an undergraduate degree or
certificate

For more information visit the • Not have a bachelor’s or professional degree
California Student Aid Commission at • Not owe a refund on any state or federal educational grant

CSAC.ca.gov• Not be in default on any student loan

http://www.csac.ca.gov/
https://www.csac.ca.gov
www.csac.ca.gov



