
 

       
        

       
  

  

VERIFYING YOUR INCOME FOR THE 
2022-23 CALIFORNIA DREAM APPLICATION 

The California Student Aid Commission (CSAC) requires a certain percentage of students to verify the information reported on the California 
Dream Act Application. Students are informed if they need to complete this process via email or on the student portal at the universities listed on 
the application. Income verification means the student (and if required, their parents or spouse) must submit to the college or university that they 
plan to attend: 1) household verification worksheet and 2) a copy of their 2020 tax return transcripts, if taxes were filed. Additional documentation 
may also be required by the school. The financial aid office will update the student’s CA Dream Act Application to match the household size and 
income per CSAC’s guidelines. The verification process can take 3-4 weeks, once all documentation has been received. 

DEPENDENT vs INDEPENDENT Students for the CA Dream Act Application 

Dependent Students are under 24 years old or were born after 1/1/99, are single, have no children or other dependents, and are pursuing 
an undergraduate degree. MUST provide student and parental household information regardless of whether you live with your parents 
or receive their financial support. Some exceptions apply. Contact your school for details. 

Independent Students meet at least one of the following conditions: are over 24 years old or were born before 1/1/99, are married, have 
children or other dependents for whom they provide 50% of child rearing costs, are a veteran or active duty, are an orphan or ward of the court, 
are at risk of homelessness, have a special circumstance or are pursuing a graduate degree. MUST provide student household information. 

CA Dream Act Selected Income CA Dream Act Financial Aid 
Application for Income Verifcation App Info Award 
Submitted Verification Submitted Verifed Offered 

Income Verifcation for Tax Filers vs Non-Tax Filers 

Tax Filers: If the parent and/or student worked and filed taxes, you are required to submit a copy of the 2020 tax return transcript. Be sure to 
request the IRS tax return transcript, not the tax account transcript. 1040 Tax Forms are not acceptable. Tax return transcripts are available 
for free by contacting the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) via internet or phone. The person requesting the transcript must be the one who 
signed the taxes. If you have trouble obtaining a transcript, contact IRS customer service. Note: Tax Return Transcripts are not available until 
three weeks after filing if you file electronically, or up to six weeks if you file by mail. Dependent students and parents must submit their own 
transcripts if they filed taxes separately. 

Non-Tax Filers: If you are a non-tax fler, be sure to list all 2020 household income earned, as well as fnancial assistance or benefts received 
on the income verifcation worksheet. Include a copy of your W-2 form(s). If you earned cash, and do not have a W-2 form, explain the 
circumstances on the worksheet. You may be required to include proof of non-fling from the IRS. Also, be aware that if you or your parents 
earned over the IRS income fling limits, you may be required to fle taxes in order to receive a fnancial aid award. 

Independent Students are over 24 years old or born before 1/1/99, are married, have children or other dependents for whom they provide 
50% of their support, are a veteran or active duty, orphan or ward of the court, at risk of homelessness, have a special circumstance or are 
pursuing a graduate degree. MUST provide student household information. 

Standard Income Verifcation Worksheet 

Household Size: The rules of the CA Dream Act Application defne households as the student; the biological or adoptive parents; siblings under 
the age of 24 in most cases; and/or other dependents for whom the parents are fnancially responsible. Additional family membersor individuals that 
live within the home but do not meet these requirements should not be included in the household. 

Marital Status: Indicate whether the parent or student is single, married, separated or divorced, or widowed. Parents who are living together, but 
are not married should choose that option. 

Tax Filing Status: Indicate whether the student and/or parent or spouse is a tax fler or a non-tax fler. 

Financial Aid Received: List the amount of grants or scholarships received by the student during 2021 and the school(s) attended. 

Child Support Paid: List the amount of any child support paid in 2021, including the child’s name, the name of the person who paid child support, 
and the name of the person to whom it was paid. 

SNAP Benefts Received: Indicate whether you and/or your parents received SNAP benefts in 2021 or 2022. Documentation from the agency 
that issued SNAP benefts may be required upon request. 

Certifcation and Signature: By signing the verifcation worksheet, the parent and/or student certify that all the information is true. Signing also 
authorizes the Financial Aid Offce to update the student’s California Dream Act Application per CSAC guidelines and the information provided.  

Additional Documentation: The college or university has the right to ask for additional documentation regarding household size or income earned 
if it is necessary to gain an adequate understanding of how household expenses were met for 2021. 

Multiple Schools: If you listed more than one school on the CA Dream Act Application, you will be required to complete income verifcation at 
each school individually. 

Immigrants Rising helps you make decisions based on your potential, not your perceived limits. Visit our website so you can see what’s possible: 
immigrantsrising.org. For inquiries regarding this resource, please contact Nancy Jodaitis, Director of Higher Education, at nancy@immigrantsrising.org 
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