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Frequently Asked Questions for New & Renewal Applicants 
 

Where do I find the application? 
Contact the Child Development Department and/or the Student Financial Aid Office for an application. You 
must fill-out the application and submit a copy of your Student Aid Report (SAR), which is generated from the 
Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) at: www.fafsa.ed.gov.  

 
What do I do after I fill-out the application? 

When you request the application, ask when and where you should submit it. Remember to meet the deadline! 
Late applications will NOT be accepted. 
 

What is the application deadline or due date? 
The deadline (August 31, 2016) is clearly marked on the application. You must also submit a copy of your 
SAR. Your college or university will submit the application to the California Student Aid Commission 
(Commission).  Late applications will NOT be accepted. 

 
What do I do if I am transferring to another school next semester? Who nominates me?  

You must be nominated by the school you will be attending. Contact the Child Development Department 
and/or the Student Financial Aid Office and let them know that you are interested in the Child Development 
Grant. You must submit the application to the school that you will be transferring to and they will submit it to 
the Commission. We will not accept applications submitted by a student or a student’s high school. 

 
Who can apply? Who is eligible? 

Any student who is majoring in Child Development in a California two-year college or a four-year college or 
university who is taking a minimum of six units of Child Development classes, is making Satisfactory 
Academic Progress (SAP), and has financial need is eligible for this grant. 

 
When do I get the grant?  

You apply in spring for the next academic year. An academic year is from the first term in August/September 
through final term May/June. Your school of attendance may be on semester or quarter term system. You 
will not receive the grant for the same term that you applied for it. 

 
How many years can I receive the grant? 

You may receive the grant up to four years, as long as you meet the criteria. The first and second year you 
may receive $1,000. That is $500 a semester or $333 a quarter. The third and fourth year you may receive 
$2,000. That is $1,000 a semester or $666 a quarter. 

 
Do I have to sign the Service Contract Agreement? 

Yes. If you accept the grant money, you must sign the Service Contract Agreement (SCA).  California law 
requires that each Child Development Grant recipient provide a year of full-time teaching service for each 
year a grant was received. 
 

When will I know that I will receive the grant? 
You will be notified by email after your school verifies you eligibility at the beginning of the semester. After 
the Commission processes the grant, checks are mailed to the school. Your school will notify you that the 
check is ready to be picked up. 
 

Contact: California Student Aid Commission Child Development Grant 
Website: http://www.csac.ca.gov/doc.asp?id=110 
Phone: 1-888-294-0153, option #4 OR FAX: 1-916-464- 8240  
Email: specialized@csac.ca.gov  

http://www.fafsa.ed.gov/
http://www.csac.ca.gov/doc.asp?id=110
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SECTION I:  APPLICANT INFORMATION (please print or type)   NEW:                  RENEWAL:  

Social Security Number  Last Name     First Name            Middle Initial  

              

 

Home Address        City           State       Zip Code 

CA 
 
Date of Birth (enter MM/DD/YYYY):         

 

Home Phone: (      )     Cell Phone: (   )                                            (optional) 

E-mail Address:          

 

My long term objective is to obtain a Child Development Permit for the following level(s): 

  Teacher  Master Teacher  Site Supervisor  Program Director 

 

2016-17 College of Attendance 
College Name     Street Address                   City               State     Zip Code       

                            
                                                CA 

  

Student Aid Report (SAR):  Attached 

NOTE: Applications without the SAR or Cal ISIR will be rejected. 

 

I currently hold, or I am eligible to hold a Child Development Permit (NOT CERTIFICATE) from the Commission 
on Teacher Credentialing (CTC).  (Check all that apply and list date issued.) 
 

Currently/Eligible to Hold   CTC Permit Issue Date    Currently/Eligible to Hold CTC Permit Issue Date 
 

  Assistant Teacher   Date:             Master Teacher  Date:    

  Associate Teacher   Date:             Site Supervisor   Date:    

  Teacher    Date:             Program Director Date:    

   None of the above 

 
By my signature I acknowledge that I have read and understand the preceding information: 

 
      
Signature  Date Signed 
 

OPTIONAL: 

Please indicate gender: I describe myself as the following: 

 Male  (1) African American   (5) Asian 
 Female  (2) Latino    (6) American Indian 
  (3) Filipino    (7) Caucasian 
  (4) Pacific Islander   (8) Other:     
 

READ the NEXT PAGE BEFORE SIGNING  
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I understand that to be eligible for the Program, I must: 

 Be nominated by a postsecondary educational institution or by my employing agency (through the waiver 
application. See http://www.cde.ca.gov/sp/cd/ci/documents/eesd7701a2014.pdf in accordance with 
California Education Code 69622.) 

 Attend an eligible California public or private two-year or four-year postsecondary education institution; 

 Maintain no less than half-time enrollment and meet the standards of satisfactory academic progress as 
defined by my postsecondary educational institution and that if I do not comply with this requirement, I 
understand that I will be withdrawn from the Program; 

 Maintain enrollment leading to a Child Development Permit in an institution approved by the Commission 
on Teacher Credentialing (CTC); 

 Complete coursework necessary to obtain the permit listed above within a CTC approved program; 

 Be, and hereby certify that I am, a United States citizen or eligible non-citizen (AB 540) and legal resident 
of California; and 

 Meet federal Selective Service filing requirements; 

 Respond to all communications and requests from the California Student Aid Commission (CSAC) within 
the time indicated; 

 Provide written notification to the CSAC within ten days of any change in my legal name, email or physical 
address, or any change in status that affects my eligibility; and, 

 Comply with all conditions cited within this application, all program laws and regulations, and all 
procedures deemed necessary by CSAC in accordance with California Education Code Section 69628. 

  
I agree that if selected:  

 I shall provide one year of service in a licensed child care center in California for every year I receive the 
Child Development Grant and will provide the CSAC with evidence of compliance by completing an 
Employment Compliance Verification Form, as requested. 

 I may appeal any determination of non-compliance with any provisions of the Program by submitting my 
appeal in writing, postmarked within 21 days following the date appearing on CSAC correspondence.  
Appeals must include a concise statement of the action with which I am dissatisfied and include 
supporting documentation in accordance with California Education Code Section 69623. 
 

By my signature, I understand and agree that: 

 I am applying for the Child Development Grant because I intend to obtain a permit for the level checked 
in my application above; and 

 Receipt of this grant may affect other financial aid assistance; 

 My participation in the Program will be shared with the California Department of Education and the 
California State Legislature, as appropriate; and 

 No leaves of absence are granted for this program. 
 

 
I declare under penalty of the laws of the state of California and the United States that I have examined this application and to the best of my 
knowledge and belief it is true, correct, and complete.  I understand that the penalty for submission of fraudulent or incorrect information on 
this application may be repayment of the grant amount received, with interest and additional penalties under federal or California law.  I 
authorize my school, the California Student Aid Commission, and the California Department of Education to receive and to release my student 
records, information regarding this application, and other information I have provided concerning my application and grant.  I understand that 
only complete and accurate applications that have been submitted using the required procedures will be considered.  I understand that this 
Program is subject to rescission or amendment at any time, resulting in possible changes and reduction or complete loss of funds, 
notwithstanding the rules or benefits at the time the award is made. 
 

 
State of California Information Practices Act of 1977 Civil Code Section 1798, et seq. & Use of your Social Security Number (SSN) 
under FERPA : Family Educational Rights and Privacy 
Act of 2001 (20 U.S.C. Sec. 1232g) (34 CFR § 99.31)  
 

http://www.cde.ca.gov/sp/cd/ci/documents/eesd7701a2014.pdf

