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other california aid programs

Eligibility is  
based on: Award amount: How to Apply:

Other requirements/
information: For more information:

California 
Chafee Grant

You are or were in ��
foster care

Financial need��

Up to $5,000 a year for 
job training or college in 
addition to any other state 
or federal aid you receive

FAFSA and Chafee Grant 
application available at 
www.chafee.csac.
ca.gov

Does not require a Social ��
Security number

Must stay in school and ��
maintain good grades

Must be enrolled at least ��
half time

Remember to establish ��
your independent status 
on your FAFSA

Apply for a Cal Grant by ��
submitting a FAFSA and 
verified GPA by March 2

www.chafee.csac.��
ca.gov  

Call toll-free ��
888.224.7268

Contact your school, ��
caseworker or Independent 
Living Coordinator

Or contact California’s ��
Foster Care Ombudsman 
toll-free at 877.846.1602 
or go to www.
fosteryouthhelp.ca.gov

Child 
Development 
Grant

Must be employed 
full time at a licensed 
California children’s 
center for one year 
for each year of grant 
assistance received

$1,000 a year (at a 
California Community 
College) or $2,000 a year 
(at a four-year college) up 
to $6,000 total

FAFSA and Child 
Development Grant 
application form

Must be pursuing a child ��
development permit and 
plan to work at a licensed 
children’s center in 
California 

Financial need��

Apply by application ��
deadline at  
www.csac.ca.gov

www.csac.ca.gov��  
click on “Financial Aid 
Programs”

Call toll-free ��
888.224.7268

Automatically renewed for ��
1 year, reapply after that

Law 
Enforcement 
Personnel 
Dependents 
Grant

If you’re the dependent 
or spouse of a California 
peace officer, firefighter 
or certain other law 
enforcement employees 
who were killed or totally 
disabled in the line of duty

Up to $11,259 a year FAFSA and Law 
Enforcement Personnel 
Dependents Grant 
application

Need based��

Applications accepted ��
year-round

www.csac.ca.gov��  
click on “Financial Aid 
Programs”

Call toll-free ��
888.224.7268

loan repayment programs

Eligibility is  
based on: Award amount: How to Apply:

Other requirements/
information: For more information:

APLE If you are a student 
pursuing a teaching 
career and you agree 
to teach for four years 
in either a designated 
subject shortage area or 
at a designated school

Up to $11,000��

Up to $8,000 more ��
if you teach math, 
science or special 
education at the 
lowest-performing 
schools

Complete California’s 
Assumption Program 
of Loans for Education 
application

Must have eligible ��
education loans

Apply by June 30��

www.csac.ca.gov��   
click on “Financial Aid 
Programs”

Call toll-free ��
888.224.7268

SNAPLE NF If you are a nursing 
student or practicing 
nurse, you’ve completed 
at least a bachelor’s 
degree in nursing, and 
you agree to teach 
nursing at an eligible 
California college for up  
to three years

Up to $25,000 State Nursing Assumption 
Program of Loans for 
Education for Nursing 
Faculty application

Must have eligible ��
education loans

Apply by June 30��

www.csac.ca.gov��   
click on “Financial Aid 
Programs” 

Call toll-free ��
888.224.7268

SNAPLE NSF If you are a nursing 
student and you agree 
to practice nursing at an 
eligible state facility for  
up to four years

Up to $20,000 State Nursing Assumption 
Program of Loans for 
Education for Nurses in 
State Facilities (SNAPLE 
NSF) application

Must have eligible ��
education loans 

Schools submit ��
nominations by June 30

www.csac.ca.gov ��
click on “Financial Aid 
Programs”

Call toll-free ��
888.224.7268 
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Award amount: How to apply: Eligibility is based on: Other requirements/information: To learn more:

Federal Academic 
Competitiveness  

Grant (ACG)

Up to $750 for 
freshman year 
of college, up 
to $1,300 for 
sophomore year

FAFSA Receiving a Pell Grant��

Successfully completing a rigorous ��
high school program

Second-year students must have ��
at least a 3.0 cumulative college 
GPA

Must attend at least half time��

www.federalstudentaid.ed.gov

Federal Pell Grant From $890 to 
$4,731 a year† 

FAFSA Your EFC and COA��

Whether attending full or part time��

May be used to pay tuition, ��
fees and living expenses at any 
qualifying college

Must not already have a ��
bachelor’s degree*

www.federalstudentaid.ed.gov

Federal  
Supplemental 

Educational 
Opportunity Grant 

(FSEOG)

From $100 to 
$4,000 a year

FAFSA Your EFC and COA��

Whether attending full or part time��

Priority given to Pell Grant ��
recipients with the lowest EFCs

Unlike Pell Grants, funds are ��
limited and there’s no guarantee 
you’ll receive one

Not all colleges offer them��

www.federalstudentaid.ed.gov

National SMART  
Grant

Up to $4,000 for 
junior and senior 
years of college

FAFSA Receiving a Pell Grant��

Majoring in physical, life or ��
computer sciences, technology, 
math or engineering, or certain 
foreign languages

Must have at least a 3.0 ��
cumulative college GPA in the 
courses for your program

Must attend at least half time��

To receive the grant in any given ��
term, you must be enrolled in at 
least one course required for your 
major

www.federalstudentaid.ed.gov

Federal TEACH Grant Up to $4,000 
a year

FAFSA Must sign agreement to serve  ��
as paid full-time teacher in  
high-need field serving low-
income students

Agree to teach for at least 4 ��
academic years within 8 years of 
completing your program of study

If you fail to complete your ��
obligation, grant converts to an 
unsubsidized Stafford loan you 
must repay

Must be enrolled in, or plan to ��
complete, coursework to begin a 
teaching career

Must maintain cumulative GPA of ��
at least 3.25

Not all colleges offer them��

Contact the financial aid office at 
the college or university you plan 
to attend, and/or 

www.federalstudentaid.ed.gov

Robert C. Byrd  
Honors Scholarship

$1,500 a year 
for up to 4 years

Applications 
available at 
high schools 
beginning 
February 1

Academically outstanding high ��
school seniors who show promise 
of continued achievement in 
college

Each high school can nominate ��
two graduating seniors

Can be used at any accredited ��
college nationwide

Individual school deadlines vary��

California nominations due by ��
application deadline at  
www.csac.ca.gov

Contact the California Student 
Aid Commission

www.csac.ca.gov

* Except for students working toward teacher certification or enrolled in a five-year baccalaureate program.  †Award amounts for 2008-09

free Money from the federal government

GEAR UP Awards

If you received a federal GEAR UP award for college while in middle school, you may use the funds to pay 

for college if you complete your high school education on time and enroll in an eligible postsecondary 

school within a year. Your annual fall letter from the California Student Aid Commission will explain how to 

access your award. You’ll find general information on the GEAR UP program at www.castategearup.org. 

For questions, call toll-free 888.224.7268 or e-mail Gear-Up@csac.ca.gov.

New Post-9/11 G.I. Bill

Under the new Post-9/11 Veterans Education Assistance Act of 2008, if you served at least 30 days of 

continuous active duty in the U.S. Armed Forces after September 10, 2001, you may be eligible for the  

Post-9/11 G.I. Bill. This program provides funding for tuition, fees and other education-related expenses.  

For eligibility and benefit information, visit www.gibill.va.gov. 




