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Action Item 
 

California Student Aid Commission 
 

Consideration of approval to implement rulemaking to repeal  
Title 5, California Code of Regulations, section 30904 

 
 
The California Lenders for Education (CLFE) requested that the Loan Advisory 
Council (LAC) consider repealing 5 CCR §30904 (Tab 6.a).  At the March 13, 2007 
Loan Advisory Council teleconference meeting, Commission staff recommended that 
LAC consider either amending 5 CCR §30904 to eliminate the 60-day requirement 
for appeal or repealing it completely.  Ultimately, LAC recommended that the 
Commission take action to repeal 5 CCR §30904. 
 
Education Code Section 69763, 5 CCR §30904 was enacted in 1992 and allows the 
Commission to administratively cancel a guaranteed loan that is in non-disbursement 
status on the Commission’s database for more than 150 days. (Tab 6.b)  When 5 
CCR §30904 was initially enacted, not only were lenders and servicers burdened by 
manually intensive paper manifesting processes, but the Commission was also 
adjusting to systematic and reconciliation issues with lenders and the United States 
Department of Education (USED).   
 
Lenders and servicers have since expressed concerns that 5 CCR §30904 
resembles no other regulation in the United States.  As noted in CLFE’s March 2007 
Position Paper, the 60-day reinstatement period for loan guarantees may prove 
insufficient time for lenders/servicers to become aware of the potential for 
administrative cancellation. (Tab 6.a)  Improvements in manifest disbursement 
processes have rendered this statutory requirement obsolete.  Commission and 
EDFUND staffs agree with LAC that this regulation should be repealed. 

 
The Department of Finance (DOF) must approve a form describing the fiscal effects 
of the repeal before the rulemaking process may proceed. 

 
Recommended Action:  Authorize staff to take the necessary steps to repeal 5 

CCR §30904. 
 

 
Responsible Person:   Ed Emerson 

 Chief, Federal Policy & Programs Division 
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March 2007 
 
 

Position Paper – Transmittal of Manifest and Fees, and Cancellation of Non-Disbursed 
Loan Guarantees by the Commission 

 
 

The California Lenders for Education is urging the complete repeal of Section 30904 of the 
California Code of Regulations, Title 5, Division 4, Chapter 1, Article 16 – Lender 
Transmittal of Manifest and Fees, and Cancellation of Non-Disbursed Loan Guarantees 
by the Commission. This provision of state law effectively administratively cancels a loan 
guarantee that is in non-disbursed status on the Commission’s database for more than 150 
days.  Technology and streamlined processes with demonstrated strong controls have rendered 
this state statutory requirement obsolete.  However, the provision remains on the books and is 
occasionally harmful to student borrowers.  
   
Background 
 
This state law was enacted in March 1992 as an administrative response and penalty to loan 
providers who failed to manifest disbursements to CSAC in a timely manner.  At the time of 
enactment, virtually all lenders and servicers were encumbered by having to report 
disbursements to CSAC via a manually intensive paper manifesting process. In addition, CSAC 
had its own set of systematic and reconciliation issues, both with the US Department of 
Education and lenders/servicers.  CSAC/EdFund does allow a reinstatement period of 60 days 
from the date the loan is cancelled.  However, due to loan sales and transfers, the 60 day 
reinstatement process is often not sufficient time for the recipient lender/servicer to become 
aware of the cancellation or of the potential for administrative cancellation on the respective 
loan.  As s result, reinstatement may not be requested by the lender/servicer within the 60 day 
timeframe in all circumstances. 
 
Vast Improvements  
 
Disbursement and other reporting to CSAC/EdFund has been fully automated by lenders and 
servicers since that time, effectively eliminating the administrative cancellations processed by 
CSAC/EdFund.  CSAC’s own improved guaranty system integrity along with systematic, 
technological, and procedural controls in place at lender/servicers and the US Department of 
Education have rendered the administrative cancellation process obsolete.  Nevertheless, there 
remain isolated occasions whereby loans are administratively cancelled, primarily due to 
transfers of loans between originating lenders and their servicers, and the subsequent reporting 
distribution between CSAC/EdFund and the lender or servicer.  These infrequent situations 
affect neither the integrity of the loan guarantee nor that of the  
FFEL Program and its loan providers. 
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In addition, when a loan is administratively cancelled on these disbursed transferred loans, the 
Commission’s guarantee is immediately and permanently revoked on that loan and more 
importantly, student borrowers lose all federal benefits available to them, including interest 
subsidies on Subsidized Stafford loans, the ability to include the loan as part of a Consolidation 
loan, and any deferment eligibility under any loans within the FFEL program.  Finally, borrowers 
may lose any lender sponsored borrower benefits - such as interest rate reductions for on-time 
payments because that loan is no longer insured.  
 
 
Competition 
 
As the FFELP is a federal program, other guarantors cancel guarantees only for reasons within 
the confines of the federal FFELP rules and regulations and the Common Manual (typically in 
the claim review process) – not for reasons that are codified in state law.  And, of those loans in 
which the guarantee is inadvertently cancelled, other guarantors reinstate loans without 
restriction, but most frequently during the Default Aversion Assistance Request (DAAR) and 
Claims process.  The following table is a summary of responses to a recent NCHELP survey 
with respect to cancellation of loan guarantees: 
 
Question:  “Do Guaranty Agencies cancel loan guarantees (allowing for reinstatement) if the 
loan is not disbursed after a certain point in time?  If so, what is the time limit before canceling 
the loan? “ 
 
Number of Respondents 13 
Cancellation of Lender Disbursed Loans 0 
Cancellation of Guarantor Disbursed Loans* 5 
     Cancels 120 days after end of Loan Period 3 
     Cancels 12 days after disbursement date 2 
     Reinstates Guarantor Cancellations with no restrictions 5 
*Of the guarantors that do cancel guarantees, their cancellation process is reflective of their 
responsibility as a disbursing agent for lenders in complying with Federal Regulations. 
 
 
In Summary, the administrative cancellation provision is obsolete and should be repealed due to 
the following reasons: 
 

 Improved technology and better reporting and controls are in place since the 
administrative cancellation process was implemented in 1992; 

 The current administrative cancellation process is harmful to borrowers by losing their 
federal benefits as well as any lender borrower benefits; 

 CSAC/EdFund is the only guarantor that permanently cancels guarantees on lender 
disbursed loans with restrictions on the reinstatement period. 

 
The California Lenders for Education is urging the complete repeal of the administrative 
cancellation provision. 



 Tab 6.b 

 
PROPOSED TEXT TO BE ELIMINATED 

 
Education Code 69763, 5 CCR §30904.  Transmittal of Manifest and Fees, and 
Cancellation of Non-Disbursed Loan Guarantees by the Commission. 
 
Lenders shall submit to the California Student Aid Commission, or its designee, a 
manifest of loan transactions (i.e. disbursements, cancellations and any other 
transactions) within 45 calendar days of the date a loan transaction occurs or the lender 
learns of the transaction. Insurance premium fees shall be submitted to the Commission 
along with the manifest for all loans recorded as disbursements on the manifest or shall 
be submitted to the Commission within 30 calendar days of the date an insurance 
premium fee billing is sent to the lender. A loan which remains in a guaranteed, but non-
disbursed status on the Commission's data base for more than 150 calendar days after 
the anticipated disbursement date shall have its guarantee canceled by the Commission. 
If such a loan had actually been disbursed, the lender may request reinstatement of the 
guarantee by providing the Commission with a written request for reinstatement 
including an explanation of the reason for the loan's non-disbursed status, a manifest 
and the appropriate insurance premium fee. This request shall be postmarked or 
received within 60 days of the date of the cancellation notification. 
 
Authority cited: Section 69763, Education Code.  Reference: Section 428(b)(1)(H), 
Higher Education Act of 1965, as amended. 
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